Culture Vulture - January Challenge

in #culturevulture6 years ago

Get Ready to feast on some Culture

It's the new year and people already planning their holidays (In the Northern Hemisphere at least).

What type of Traveller are you?
Will you be laying on a beach for two weeks in June or are you more inspired by experiencing local heritage. Do you travel off the beaten track to immerse yourself in a new culture....



If you have looking for something to write for Steemit, this challenge is just what you need to get going. As a bonus this month the prize fund is a guaranteed 115 USD.

  • Are you interested in travel, culture and history?
  • Are you looking for inspiration?
  • Do you want to get writing on Steemit and build up your followers?

Culture Vulture

The tag #culturevulture is a place where you can share something unique about your country with the world. Instead of being a tag about travel or tourism this tag is more about sharing local experiences. Let's get inside the hearts and souls of the Steemit Community.

This challenge has been running since July 2017. We have had participants from the 4 corners of the world, with 40k votes, 9k comments and nearly 7.5k paid out in post rewards, this challenge has certainly gotten noticed and we are looking forward to a record breaking December. It's Christmas time after all!

For more info about entering this challenge and the rules you can read about it in one of the following posts

Culture Vulture Challenge
Competición de CultureVulture
“文化秃鹰” CultureVulture Challenge
Le défi "Culture Vulture" - Les vautours de la culture
カルチャー・ヴァルチャー "CultureVulture Challenge"
CultureVulture Challenge (컬쳐벌쳐)

Monthly Challenge

For the Month of January any post tagged with "#culturevulture" will be eligible for the challenge.

The Rewards

The prize fund has been growing each month thanks to generous contributions as well as the initiative by @deanliu. This month the prizes are as follows:

  • 1st Place 55 USD Paid in Steem
  • A prize of 15 USD Paid in Steem for a post in each of the 4 themes; Festivals, Customs & Traditions, Food, Art.
  • Weekly promotions and original authors will get a share of posts translated by @deanliu, rewards from that post will be shared with the original author and the culture vulture challenge.
    For translations you will be contacted in advance and if you do not wish your post to be translated and posted by @deanliu, your wishes will be respected. The original post will be referenced in the translation.

Decisions

Our guest judge from this month is a regular poster on #culturevulture and will be known to many. @steemitjp writes about travel experiences in Japan and is very active in the Korean Community. I had the pleasure to meet him in person at a meetup in Tokyo last November.



Image Source: @bedusaini

Inspiration is all around us. I can't wait to read about your culture this month...

Thanks

A big thank you to all those who have taken part and made this challenge what it is. If you wish to support this challenge you may write an article, donate to the monthly prize fund, spread the word, resteem or most importantly check out the tag from time to time and comment and upvote peoples posts. Thank you for reading.



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.




Sort:  

Great Project and I will more introduce #culturevulture tag and challenges to Korea and Japan Community. Because many korean and Japanese do not know this tag. 🙏 for decision for guest decision member.

I am really looking forward to learning more about Korean culture. I know very little about it.

Hi eroche. I read your post. Last december korean application is nothing right? so I think I have to post through my Id. It is more benificial. so Please send your culturevulture posting text for copy and pasting. About my gain through this post, I will calculate and 50% give culturevulture fund and remain 50% will be divided application for korean and Japan user . I will organize . And @inoue is so busy now. So maybe it is better to post together in Japanese. How about?

yeah love this, it's my birthday in three days and i'm heading to a nearby city for the day so i might include this hashtag into the equation.

That would be awesome. Happy birthday. It's mine in a few weeks too 🎂

I'm glad the contest continues! Good luck and interesting stories!

thanks for letting us promote our culture through this contest,will be sending in my entry soon

Im from Aceh, Indonesia. I will participate. But, do I have to make a post every day? Any post can be with just one photo @eroche? Thank u and Best Regards.

You only have to make one post to enter. You can post with one photo but you will do better if you add a bit of a description. You can write it in your own language too if that helps. The posts don't have to be long but we really appreciate and look for, first hand experiences. Tell us about it in your own words. Good luck.

Thanks for your explanation @eroche. I will make some interesting postings, as well as introduce Aceh to the world. Best Regards for you.

Fantastic. Looking forward to it.

One more thing, I made yesterday post and tagged #culturevulture. But there is no response. I want to ask again, can i make some posts? Sorry, I have a lot of your time consuming.

That was a great post you did yesterday. I hadn't seen it yet.

Thanks so much for taking the time to write that. Its very interesting. There is a great bunch of people over on discord too where you can promote your posts and get some help. I see your already a member of Blogger Central.

Yes I joined local steemit users, in the district where I live. I think it's just to reinforce my every post because they are my friends. Unfortunately, I have not had friends outside the area especially abroad. Do you have any suggestions for me?

It can take a bit of time to build connections but keep posting and commenting. Local meetups are great too. I think your doing all the right things. 👍

Really very good post...
Regards @eroche i'm newbie in steemit...

This challenge is a great way to get started. Happy Steeming

thanks for information @eroche
u good man bro

Thanks for this information i will do well to make a post about my own culture here in Nigeria as a benin indigen

I like this cultural post..Obviously I visite this place..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94