Culture Vulture ChallengesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #culturevulture7 years ago

This week I want to announce a new challenge on Steemit and propose a new tag.

This challenge and tag will be for travel/culture style posts where people share on Steemit a unique cultural aspect of the place where they live.



Image source pixabay.com

It may be because I am Irish and exploring is in our blood, but I have loved travelling ever since I was little when we would go on overseas holidays in the Summer time; visits to Spain, America and The UK. From the Beefeaters in London to the Skyscrapers in America, it was all a marvellous experience. Life long memories and experiences but most of all it gave me an appreciation and respect for other cultures and our differences.

During and after college I went outside my comfort zone and visited the Middle East and South Asia which left me with the feeling, wow there is so much more out there that I didn't know about.

Culture Vulture

"#culturevulture" will be a tag where, here on Steemit, you can share something unique about your country with the world. Instead of being a post about travel or tourism this tag will be about sharing local experiences.

Inspiration

If your eager to get writing on Steemit and you don't have material this tag might be just the thing to get you going.



Image source pixabay.com

Inspiration is all around us. It may be a daily ritual where you live or a local passion that always reminds you of home.

Some examples which would be suitable

  • Family Celebrations
    Is there a tradition at each Christmas, Eid, Diwali, Hanukkah that you share?
  • Family Gatherings
    Is there a weekly family dinner or other occasion that you look forward to each year?
  • Morning Tai Chi in the office in Japan
    Does your office do something that is culturally unique, what is its background and what do you get out of it?
  • The Tea Ceremony Ritual in Japan
    Is there a unique tradition in your country that is more of an art form. What is its history and describe it to us.
  • Home Cooked Lunches delivered by Dabbawalas in India
    Is there a unique tradition in your country that you miss if your working overseas?
  • The Tapas Ritual and the best places in Spain
    What do Tapas mean to you?, Who do you share them with, what is your ritual?, Where are the best?
  • Enjoying Beer in Belgium
    What do you miss most when your abroad? Why is Belgian Beer the best? What makes it special?
  • Chewing Qat in Yemen
  • Enjoying Nargila in the Levant

My contribution is a series on Irish Pubs in Ireland, The Irish Pub & A Dirty Old Town...

Tell us a bit about the ritual and fill in the details about why, how, and the cultural background. Don't forget a few pictures to bring it to life.



Monthly Challenge

For the Month of July I will be running a challenge where any post tagged with "#culturevulture" will be eligible.

The Rewards

  • 1st Place 30 SBD
  • Notable Mentions 5 SBD each

Many thanks to @boxcarblue for supporting this challenge with a generous donation, encouragement and help to Judge the entries.

Competition Rules

  • All entries must be tagged with "#culturevulture", it doesn't need to be the first tag.
  • The work must be your own, don't copy and paste from websites and claim credit. Feel free to reference work for descriptions/background but use Quotes and provide a link to the original work.
  • The posts will be judged on how well they met the challenge, how they shared a unique cultural aspect of the country. We would prefer post from locals or people living in a country rather than tourist posts.
  • Please make it clear whether the photos are yours or not.

Final Decisions

  • Post votes or payouts will not be the highest consideration.
  • My decision will be final, I will try to be fair and unbiased.



This will be a monthly or weekly challenge depending on the level of interest.



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



Images are from my personal library unless otherwise stated


Sort:  

Great! nice idea! thank you! @eroche

Thanks @lovysteem, I hope you can write about your country, and tell your friends. I have never visited there either.

Really interesting post @cleemit. I really hope to visit Japan some time soon. I am actually planning a trip at the moment.

For the challenge would you be able to include as one of the 5 tags on your post "culturevulture", you can change one of them if you edit your post. I dont think you can change the first one but you can change any other.

Let me know if you find yourself in Kansai. I may be able to help with the planning or at least make recommendations on what not to miss. :D

Sounds great. Will definitely be visiting this region.

I'm really looking forward to seeing the posts that get connected to this. Thanks for organizing it!!

People have great stories and experiences, it's time to share them :)

great idea. subscribed.it will help showcase hidden tourism sites in various countries and places.

Local knowledge is the best. There is a lot to be said for tourist sites but for me it's the experiences that make travel special.

I hope to visit some day.

Great challenge idea! I'll take a try.

Looking forward to your entry. Good luck.

Really nice initiative that could break barriers.. Very interested.. Would create the time to make a post on a certain EYO festival in Nigeria @eroche

TIMMAY!

TIMMAY!

I would love to see that. I really want to learn more about Nigeria, I have never been.

Time to break out some of my pics I have been keeping for a rainy day :D

Fantastic, if you can give a bit of background too to the ritual or tradition you will have a better chance of winning :)

Yep! I probably should have added more text, but I think it gives the feel for the seminar. :) (Just posted it.) https://steemit.com/photography/@chillinkansai/annual-aikido-seminar-in-kyoto-japan

yes, we all need inspiration in life :D

Thanks @jwolf, I hope people find inspiration all around them. The world we live in is so rich and full of amazing things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68014.74
ETH 3533.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81