Annual Aikido Seminar in Kyoto JapansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Every year my dojo puts on an international aikido seminar.
steemaikido-8610.jpg
Most of the time the majority of participants are from within Japan, with a small number from outside of the country.
steemaikido-8600.jpg
We hold the seminar over three days in the Budo Center in the middle of Kyoto.
steemaikido-9131.jpg
It is located just around the corner from the Heian Shrine and is technically on the grounds.
steemaikido-9139.jpg
We had a pretty big turnout this year. There were around 200 or so people from all over the country and all over the world.
steemaikido-8599.jpg
My dojo has access to this building and occasionally we have one of our regular practices here.
steemaikido-9859.jpg
We were also pretty lucky with the weather this year. It wasn't too hot and it didn't rain.
We are very fortunate to have a building like this to train in. Although it isn't that old (re-built in the 1980's I believe), it has a very traditional feel to it.
Thanks for reading and checking out the pictures!!
(I took all the pictures.)

Sort:  

These pictures are very nice and clear. If I may, I would suggest writing a little more about the customs involved with this martial art and the building itself. Does the dojo have any characteristics that are unique to it? Is there a particular way to enter it or to begin practice? How often do you practice and for how long? Etc.

Thank you! I appreciate the advice. I definitely should have spent more time on the text. I'll keep those tips in mind for next time! Thank you again for taking the time for the comment. :D

Sorry. Normally I don't just throw my two cents out there when it isn't asked for, I just found myself wanting to know much more about the dojo and the martial art and your experiences with it. I look forward to your next post.

Nothing to be sorry about! I made sure to take a little extra video at practice tonight and a couple of pictures of the local branch of the dojo. Seriously, I really appreciate the feedback! It is very encouraging. :D

I'm glad to hear it. Let me know when you've got a new post.

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture competition. Good Luck

Really great photos. Is this type of tournament something you can visit if your a tourist in Japan or is it well off the beaten trail?

Thanks! There is a visitor seating area. But because it's a little closer to a workshop than a tournament, people watch through the doors for a little while then wander off. But if you are affiliated with a dojo and the seminar lines up with your trip, it is possible to participate. (Better to make plans ahead of time though.)
This building is right around the corner from Heian Shrine (one of the big shrines to see in Kyoto) and the art museum, so can be pretty easy to find.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91