The Irish Pub & A Dirty Old Town...

in #culturevulture7 years ago (edited)

This week I travelled out of the city center to Irelands very own Silicon Docks. For number 13 on my tour of Dublins Pubs I visited The Ferryman Bar.

This is the part of Dublin where all the tech companies are located, Google, Facebook, ...


The Ferryman


The Irish Pub is an institution. To this day it is very much part of Irish life. Every aspect of life's journey is celebrated here, from wetting the baby's head to waking the dead. In recent times it has been (in)famous as a place where brown paper envelopes have been exchanged but also much loved for; the lockins, the stories, the music and the great craic. A version of the Irish pub has been exported all over the world and from Mozambique to Shanghai you can visit a "Molly Malones" or "Murphys". Each incarnation will have an Irish sounding name and be distinguished by Celtic writing above the door but there is no substitute for the real thing.


)

Join me as I visit some of the great pubs of Dublin, discover some secret watering holes, and help me bring Steemit to the masses!

The first post in this series will fill you in on why I have started this journey, The Irish Pub & A Dirty Old Town


The Ferryman

This trendy bar and hotel by Dublin Docks was established in 1780, being located between the tech and finance centers of the city, is now frequented by the tech heads and bankers of Dublin.



With great views of the Harbour and the modern city skyline it can feel like you have left the "Dirty Old Town" behind. This pub is also enroute to the premier entertainment venues in Dublin; The Three Theatre and the Bord Gais Theatre, so it can be a nice place to stop for a pint before or after a gig.

The Bar

There are two bars in this Pub.

Upstairs is the main bar, with lots of comfortable seating.



Downstairs is the Cellar Bar

This was empty and can be a nice place to have a quite conversation with a small group.



Double Click

There was no trad session playing in the Ferryman. There was low background music but what differentiated this bar from previous ones in the series was the clientèle. There were many people sitting at the bar tapping away at their phones. I think I was the only one in the previous 12 pubs on my phone. I wonder was there anyone else here on Steemit ???

This week I got to meet @jimjam1210 who was over in Dublin for a few days. There was a lot of talk about Steemit, music and tshirt printing. Have you checked out http://steem-store.com/ ?

Bric o Brac

A theme in Irish Pubs seems to be memorobilia all over the walls. The Ferryman is no exception.



Quotes

We Irish do love great quotes. The photos wouldn't come out well for me this week but another feature you find in many Irish Pubs is Quotes on signs dotted around the walls. I found a great one this week.

"I could agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong"

How does the Beer taste?

Now we are getting to the best part, only two pubs so far have gotten a 4 for the Guinness. How will The Ferryman do?



The pint certainly looked great.

The Verdict

I am going to give a rating to each pub in this series based on the Guinness. There is a scale of 1-4, 4 is exceptional, 3 is very good and 2 is acceptable, 1 is muck.



The Ferryman gets a 3.

Join me to talk about Steemit.

Each week I will be visiting a new pub in Dublin. I am inviting anyone that is in Dublin to join me. If your new to Steemit and you want to learn more about it bring your laptop and we will get you set up. If your free on a Monday evening send me a message @eroche on Steemit Chat and I will let you know where I will be.

On my journey I also am also hoping to get at least one bar in Dublin to try STEEM as payment. You never know they might develop a taste for it. :)

You are likely to meet anyone in a Dublin Pub. From John F Kennedy to Barak Obama there have been 7 American Presidents spotted in Dublin Pubs. I am unlikely to get to talk to President Trump if he visits but if I meet any other celebrities in my travels I will be sure to introduce them to Steemit and get a Selfie.


Can't wait till next Monday!




If there is an Irish Bar near you, send me the name or a photo of the outside and I will include Irish Pubs from around the world in a monthly roundup.


“It's not that the Irish are cynical. It's rather that they have a wonderful lack of respect for everything and everybody.”
― Brendan Behan



Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, Travel and lots of random topics.



Sort:  

I could agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong

I am eagerly awaiting my chance to use this

You will forget the way home, haha

"I could agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong"
This very interesting quote. Nice ! :)

Your topic is true and deserves respect !!! Great photo :)

👊 welcome to steemit by the way.

Wow @eroche the culture is amazing.

This post has received a 2.51 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @eroche.

Nice post .....i upvoted you plz upvote me back!!

Nice work! Brought back memories of one night in the early 80's when we were doing a gig at the Twangman's pub a few doors away, we went into the Ferryman to buy some weed, only to see Bono and The Edge there down the back havin' a quiet pint.
If I remember correctly, it was quite a bit smaller then and the area wasn't quite so salubrious..

Wow cool story.

buen post, ya te sigo, sigueme espero tus aportes en mis post, saludos...

That sounds like a great way to party around Ireland @eroche love the opening photo of the bicycle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42