You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: No Chicken at the Chicken Place--They Must Be Racist! (Thoughts on the dangerous cocktail of assumptions, prejudice, and alcohol)

in #culture7 years ago

I used to be that guy too, no worries! I think going in to apologize would be awesome, most people are not considerate enough to do that but I think that would undo the negative feelings you left the staff and owner with and if they did harbor any ill will towards foreigners (most ill will towards foreigners in Japan is because foreigners force them out of their comfort zone and are much more popular at the clubs) an apology and explaination ("sometimes people really do discriminate") would help hem understand our position a bit better.

Fun story!

Sort:  

Thanks a lot, man. I've actually just come back from apologizing and bringing them a small gift with my son. They (the owner and all staff present last night) were nothing but understanding and told us to come back anytime. A good chance to teach my son that sometimes we mess up, but we can apologize and set things right. Glad you liked the story!

Of course I did, I can totally relate. I think I mentioned it a while ago, but I lived in japan for 5 years, then haven't for 5 years...currently planning my return.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50