Why So Many Entrances are needed to the Soo Deok Sa temple.

in #culture7 years ago

20171025

Each temple has it’s specific appearance. In Soo Deok Sa temple, I saw it’s characteristics at the entrance. There were four entrances in Soo Deck Sa. I don’t know why so many entrances are needed in the Temple.

Anyway let me show you these entrances in order.

What I saw first was below.

20171005_145919.jpg

It was so big, so I thought the pillars of the entrance not wooden.
4 pillars of this entrance were made with wood. It was wonder where they got such a big wood.
Front board was written in Korean.

It seemed that Many foreigners thought Korean language and Chinese language had same origin.

But Korean and Chinese are quiet different.
Korean alphabet was as same as English alphabet.
Korean language is a phonogram, but Chinese is an ideogram.

Second entrance was little bit smaller than the first.
But it’s pillar was made up of a stone.
It seemed that the second entrance was made earlier than the first.
The front board was written in Chinese letters.

20171005_150835.jpg

20171005_150905.jpg

There was written as this temple is the first Zen temple in Eastern country.
As I wrote before, this temple was new starting point of Zen training in Korea in 19 century.

Zen training in Korea was set up in 19 century, and it was totally different than before.
It was far beyond my English ability to describe Korean style Zen Training which was set up in 19 century by the great master mont of Gyeong Heo.

I hope to explain about in English sooner.

The Third entrance was the most unique in this temple. It was Geum Ghang Moon.

20171005_151938.jpg

20171005_152011.jpg

It means that Diamond strength gate.
Here meaning of Geum Ghang is the strong guard god protecting Buddhist world.
There were two Guem Ghang guard gods standing in each side of the entrance.

20171005_152152.jpg

20171005_152218.jpg

I heard that there were few temples having Guem Chang gate in Korea.

The last was 4 heaven king entrance.

I have posted on 4 heaven king entrance several times in Steemit.
4 Heaven King are the guard god who protect East, West, North and South.

20171005_152451.jpg

20171005_152505.jpg

20171005_152516.jpg

Why there needed such a many gate to enter into the temple.
It took more than 15 minutes on foot to get through from the first to the last gate.

Let's get go to further into the temple deeper next time.

Sort:  

Amazing really I like this post. that why you have my vote & steem

What great work was done here!! I definitely see Shamanistic elements here.

wow!! that is awesome! I need to add that place to my bucket list! haha!

Amazing realy i like this post.

What great work was done here!! I definitely see Shamanistic elements here.

It's a dream of mine to visit a Buddhist temple. Maybe I'll get to go to this Zen temple one day!

Great artistry in the old zen construction! Thanks for sharing. You might enjoy reading my recent post that demonstrates some zen principles - maybe it will help you express more zen awareness in English?

I found you here today because I just launched a witness campaign for Steemit and am looking for voters who have empty vote slots who might support me. I have a pretty high capacity server, plus a lot of professional experience with software/hardware - I'd really appreciate if you would consider voting for me to give me a chance to serve the community as best I can.
My witness application is here. Cheers!

you are welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87