The Ceremony of Changing Troops at the Gate of the Last Palace of Chosun Dynasty, Dae Han Mun

in #culture5 years ago (edited)

Here in this post, I'd like to arrange the posts I wrote into one relating to the ceremony performed at the gate of Palace, Dae Han Mun.

It takes too much time to complete my trip in one post due to the photo jobs and other things I should do. So I made a post on a daily basis.

at the Waffle snag bar and the beginning of the ceremony

I had an appointment with my colleagues in front of the gate of last palace of Chosun dynasty.

I heard there was a nice waffle store near the gate.
So I tried to find out where the snack bar was.
It was not easy to find the store. People made a line to taste the waffle.
I ordered the waffle and a cup of coffee. Actually, the waffle was really wonderful. I’d like to strongly recommend to taste that waffle. It was not much sweat but had a delicate smell in it.

대한문1.JPG

While having the waffle, I could hear a drum sound.
It was said there was a ceremony of exchanging the guarding troops which were revived recent times for the tourists.

대한문2.JPG 대한문3.JPG

People were gathering to see the ceremony.
At first, the commanding group was marching out through the gate with various flags.

대한문4.JPG

I tried to look at this ceremony several times, but I had missed before.
In this time, I didn’t have any expectation to see this ceremony.
The irony of our lives.

Traditional Marching Band

As the commanding group walking through the gate, the traditional military marching band was followed.

대한문5.JPG 대한문6.JPG

They put on the yellow traditional uniform.
The conductor was marching at first and the band followed next to him.

대한문7.JPG 대한문8.JPG 대한문9.JPG 대한문10.JPG

There were lots of kinds of traditional music instruments.
Hearing traditional music was interesting.

Ceremony Inspection by the Government Officials

After the band passing through, traditional troops was marching.

행진2.JPG 행진3.JPG

They gathered on the ground of the gate and made a formation.
It showed the strict discipline of the ancient army.

행진6.JPG

The officials were standing in front of the troops for the inspection.
The ceremony for the inspection was undergone.

행진7.JPG 행진8.JPG 행진11.JPG 행진12.JPG

The official delivered the secret code for the troops keeping the palace.

It was said that this ceremony was revived after the historical investigation.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://koreanculture.dothome.co.kr/the-ceremony-of-changing-troops-at-the-gate-of-the-last-palace-of-chosun-dynasty-dae-han-mun/
--- ##### **Sponsored ( Powered by [dclick](https://www.dclick.io) )** ##### [Introducing DCLICK: An Incentivized Ad platform by Proof of Click. - Steem based AdSense.](https://api.dclick.io/v1/c?x=eyJhbGciOiJIUzI1NiIsInR5cCI6IkpXVCJ9.eyJjIjoic2xvd3dhbGtlciIsInMiOiJ0aGVjZXJlbW9ueW9mY2hhbmdpbmd0cm9vcHNhdHRoZWdhdGVvZnRoZWxhc3RwYWxhY2VvZmNob3N1bmR5bmFzdHlkYWVoYW5tdW4td3F3dmZlY2s1aCIsImEiOlsidC0yIl0sInVybCI6Imh0dHBzOi8vc3RlZW1pdC5jb20vQGRjbGljay9pbnRyb2R1Y2luZ2RjbGljay1hbi1pbmNlbnRpdml6ZWQtYWQtcGxhdGZvcm0tYnktcHJvb2Ytb2YtY2xpY2stc3RlZW0tYmFzZWQtYWRzZW5zZS0xNTQwMzM3MjIyMDYwIiwiaWF0IjoxNTYzMjAzMjU3LCJleHAiOjE4Nzg1NjMyNTd9.0ZvwWh-NnkoJQjjAoP6KDTIQOJVK_ov7Nl9jYioMjso) Hello, Steemians. Let us introduce you a new Steem B...
Sort:  

I have bought waffles at this waffle shop before and tried them.

A lot of cool pictures you shared here

@slowwalker,i followed your all posts ,great pictures

Posted using Partiko iOS

The traditional marching bands and the troops are colourful, I've seen an old Korean movie and this procession reminds me of the old dynasty, it's definitely beautiful look at the drums as well. Dazzling pictures here @slowwalker

awesome

Posted using Partiko Android

Korea has a very interesting culture and the ceremony really is colorful @slowwalker :D

I follow you in every post, your posts are really great.!

Very amazing ceremony, full of colours :).

Posted using Partiko Android

sounds like a beautiful ceramony and lucky you finelly caught it. Was the drumming you talked about like this?

It is such a historical event, this Changing of the Guards or Troops in Seoul. I didn't know that they changed twice a day, but, what an honor to see the pomp and circumstance of it. I am glad you got some pictures of this event!

I think a tour of this Palace gives one a great insight into Korean history.

It is so convenient to get there by subway and Gyeongbokgung station is actually connected to the Palace.

Now I think I want a waffle!

!tip

다음에 봐

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54