Have you ever heard “Moo Dang”, Korean Shaman.

in #culture7 years ago

They called Korean Shaman "Moo Dang". The origin of Moo Dang is uncertain.
But we suppode that it came from the prehistory age. At that time, religion and political powers were not devided. So Moo Dang had had not only religious but also political leader for long time.

Nowdays Moo Dang’s roles are limited only in the primitive religion, fortune teller and playing special ceremony to prevent evil spirits, etc.

These photos are Moo Dang playing ceremony

I took a photo of Moo Dang, When I had traveled 2 months ago.
It seemed that Moo Dang having a ceremony to receive spiritual power from somewhere.I posted about that

On the business trip, I could’ve taken some photos of Moo Dang’s houses.
At first, their house seems same, but there are big differences among their houses.
I heard that there were strict classifications of hierarchy.

The lowest Moo Dang’s house has only red and white flag

There are Korean national flag and red and white flag in Middle class house.

The highest and strongest house can use the symbol of Buddha.
It looks like hagen cross of NAZI, but quite different from that.
At first colour is red, and the end of symbol goes to opposite direction.

This house can use dried bamboo pole.

In korean Buddhist temple, there are such places to serve the traditional spiritual existence, for example mountain god.

Buddhist temple prepared special place for traditional religion to appease their opposition.

That’s why Moo Dang have been using Buddhist Flag.

I found strange thing. The house of Moo Dang , who has highest spiritual level, looked being almost collapsed.

I heard that the more stronger spiritual power Moo Dang has, the more difficult their live is.

Does your place have this kinds of primitive religion yet ?

You can say superstitious, but it is not enough to say just superstitious.

Sort:  

@slowwalker another great post what was ya doing in korea ? thx for the upvote on my etherum post your a star

It is very interesting to know the culture of Korea thanks to you @slowwalker! Christianity prevails in Ukraine, which preserved many pagan traditions.

보기 힘든 장면을 사진에 담으셨네요
이제는 보기 힘든 장면이죠
출장잘 다녀 왔습니다.
1000은 제가 채웠습니다. ㅋㅋㅋ

a very interesting post today, @slowwalker

I know a little about Shamans because our native North American indigenous people practice their own forms of ritualistic worship closely related to Nature - so worshipping the mountain god would be similar.

I understand that some of these shrines in Korea have fallen into ruin but lately many are being rebuilt.

You are very respectful of others' beliefs - I admire that.

BTW, I wasn't aware that there were different classes of houses displaying flags and symbols and that the Buddhist symbol was the highest!

Very fascinating, my friend :)

Thank you so much for reading

you're very welcome, @slowwalker

Super photos and nice educational and interesting post, thanks :)

🤗Thank you

Wow that`s extremely out of my realm. Thank you for showing us that fascinating world, in my reality people have fancier cars not different flags lol, pretty mind blowing!

Thank you so much

lol

Thank you for making me realize I know so little about Asian culture. I knew something about Japan but there are just fascinating traditions all over the place. For Romania I won't say there are many things left when I think of superstitions and traditions. At least, not with such a big impact. Being for the last 2000 years at the intersection of multiple cultures and religions made us loose the ones we previously had. So it's even more amazing to find out the diversity we have in the world.

Thank you for your comment

very cool outfits

Thank you so much

very nice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86