Close Shots of the East Gate,Flourishing the Perfect Virtue Gate, 興仁之門

in #culture7 years ago

In this time, I'd like to look at the East Gate more closely.
At firt time, my interest was the Gate itself. But the approach to the gate was prohibited.

So I barely took a picture of the ceiling of the gate.
The ceiling of the gate is the core of it's meaning.
Fortuately I took a zoom lense at that time

More close shots

Yellow dragon

Blue dragon

I made a mistake when I took the photos.
I failed to take a photo of blue dragon's face. Instead I took a foot.
I can't understand myself why I made a mistake.
I think I made a mistake because of the distance. It was little bit difficult to confirm the face of blue dragon
I Will visit once againt to take a photo of blue dragon's face.

The pattern of the upper part was interesting.
It was Tai Chi pattern

It's the symbol of korean national flag
Below is the first model of Korean national flag.

The Tai Chi means yin-yan, minus and plus.

The reason why they painted the Tai Chi on the wall was seemed to expect the harmony

On the roof of the gate building, you can look at the statues.
It is the imagenary animalls to prevent a fire.
You can see this statue on the roof of the palace

And You could find the statue loolks like the tale of tjhe eagle.
It is the symbol of the protection against the disasters.

Let's go to the outer wall of the gate.
There is a wall protect the gate.


This half round shape of wall was built to protect the door of the gate from enemy attack.

You can see the historical changes and it's beauty of structure of the wall

The East Gate had been fixed sevral times through hundreds of years.
It is the only orginal historical gate.
So I recommend to visit the East gate, here you can feel korean culture easily.
And you can enjoy the Seoul wall tracking.
Through the Seoul wall tracking, you can see the true face of Seoul, not decorated.

Sort:  

Very nice, thanks for sharing.

Beautiful shots my friend !
Great work ! Love your photos !!

nice photography

Great photos, great architecture, great culture. Every countries have our own great stories

lovely photos, @slowwalker.

The Tai chi symbols depict earth and heaven and the ten thousand things found throughout the universe.

It is fitting that this symbol is the Korean flag and also appears on this gate to Seoul City

The animal figures lining the roof are reminiscent of gargoyles used in western architecture - fearful dragons used as waterspouts to carry off rainwater but also as symbols to ward off evil. much as the decorative dragons painted on the East Gate's ceiling.

The painted ceiling is stunning with its vibrant floral colours and twisting serpentine dragons. Very impressive!

I was also fascinated by the stone wall that clearly showed a history in the various repairs made throughout time.

Another beautiful post, my friend.

thank you so much

I don't necessary like photography but I will leave this effortless comment in the hope that someone, somewhere reads it and gives me 2 cents for it. I like to keep my expectations in line with my reality @slowwaker Is that meant to be the Great Wall of China or something?

The blue dragon's foot looks awesome hehe. Beatiful structures and symbols !

Thank you hehe

Hello @slowwalker, I was really waiting for this post of closer shots of the East Gate! If one can get inside that would be great indeed!
The former Korean flag look nice too!
Thanks for always giving so much informations on your country history mate!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59