What Dutch People Say #05

in #culture7 years ago

Good evening, Steemians. Let's have a latenight Dutch class, shall we?

I guess this episode a little less happy ones. We have dying and telling people to fuck off, along with our usual curse words in the end - which actually are a bit funny now I think of it.


rug op.png
Yep. And not in a funny piggybackride kind of way. Often said by either of my parents, grandparents.. Yea, any family member actually.

de pijp uitgaan.png
I don't think this needs much of a caption. However, this one isn't used in serious ways. It's generally used when you're talking about someone who isn't in your inner circle since it does imply some kind of rudeness.


buik schrijven.png
Pretty much the same one as the first one! I think this one is used more often by my mom. According to this source, it originates from long ago. Implying that writing something on your belly is pretty useless, since no one can see it any way due to clothing.


zakkenwasser.png
Aaa! I love this one. I think my mom's ex-boyfriend used this one quite often. It's not too serious but does imply the annoyance.


droplul.png
One of my favourites too! Not used very often, but you will see my cry of laughter when someone drops this one. Did you see what I did there...... Eh eh eh eh.


If you enjoyed these, you might also be interested in previous episodes of What Dutch People Say! Check it out below!

What Dutch People Say #04 by @sjennon
What Dutch People Say #03 by @sjennon
What Dutch People Say #02 by @sjennon
What Dutch People Say #01 by @sjennon


Sort:  

Oh some nasty ones today! This i'm gonna save it and have some fun with my friends! They will not understand anything and i will laugh out loudly!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Hahaha, I would love to hear their reactions!

"You can get on my back" sounds pretty chivalrous if you ask me lol. Oh, there's a puddle? "Je kan m'n rug op."

Hhahaa, yeah..I couldn't really find where it origins from but we use it a lot :')

Not sure if you're aware, but in English we have the saying "Get off my back," meaning "Leave me alone; stop bothering me." :) Well it can actually mean "Fuck off," too now that I think about it lol

Very good post :) I like it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63235.53
ETH 2558.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63