What Dutch People Say #01

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

During my visit in Amsterdam, I realized how much my family uses expressions. Like seriously, a lot.


They gave me inspiration to write this post for you guys, so you guys can enjoy these odd expressions aswell! Only while I am living in Berlin, I've noticed how much of these expressions or other saying we use. Maybe it's because I barely speak Dutch, or maybe it's because I barely listen to it anymore. Either way, I enjoyed my stay back home and I would love to share some of the things they said with you guys!

I am thinking to probably post more of these, so stay tuned!


Bord voor je kop hebben.png
Actually, we use this one quite a lot. Mostly referring to my dad.. Haha. However, this time my friend was referring to herself as she got accidentally pregnant and didn't see the signs of her being pregnant up untill the 22nd week (!).


Een gat in de lucht springen.png
We say this when one is super excited or happy. Recently, my sister graduated highschool, and so this expression was said!


Door de mand vallen.png
Whoopsie. Tried something sneaky but failed? You got caught!


Also, for the not so polite Steemians around here. A couple of semi-curse words!

Je zuster op een houtvlot.png
Actually, this one is said now and then by one of my friends. This expression is so far fetched and random, that I crack up every time


Je kan de pot op.png
Generally said by.. everyone in my household. Haha! Eventhough it sounds rude, we always say it in a friendly smile. Probably most said by my mom when me or my sisters ask for something ridiculous.


I hope you guys enjoyed this! Hopefully you loved it enough for another round of these soon!



Also want one of these pretty footers? I do them for free! Check out this post for more information!

Sort:  

hahaha nice

I'm dutch myself and I can say that there are a lot more of them! Great post @sjennon keep writing :)

There are! This is just the start! I am psyched to share more of these! Which ones do you and/or your family use a lot?

Haha here are some examples

  • komt de aap uit de mauw
  • mafkees
  • al heeft een aap een goude ring het is en blijft een lelijk ding

:) I will follow you, dutchies rock!

Hahaha yes! Super common ones indeed. I did a short research on the internet - some of those really crack me up

Some more:

"De appel valt niet ver van de boom" (The apple does not fall far from the tree) meaning: The child is very much alike it's parents.

"Dat staat als een paal boven water" (The pole stands up from the water) meaning: It is very obvious.

"Oost west, thuis Best" (East west at home it's the best) meaning: You can travel all you want, but your own home is the best place to be.

Thanks for your input!

"De appel valt niet ver van de boom" and "Oost west, thuis Best" are almost literally the same in English. However, I would love to use, "Dat staat als een paal boven water"! The latter doesn't have a direct link in translation and thus pretty nice to share!

Thanks again :D

How many people on here live in Berlin, you're like the 5th person Ive seen, I didnt know there were so many.

I have to start going to the Meetups

Haha, I don't know actually. I haven't run into them! I am not from Berlin though. Originally from Amsterdam as you probably read..

Where are you from?

Very cool!!

Thank you :>

those are some witty expressions,lol.

Funny stuff, keep it up :)

Thank you!

Never heard that one about the houtvlot. Guess it's not so common where I live (east Netherlands).

Haha, we do not use it much and mostly used by my friends. The tone is just hilarious to me though!

thank you for teaching us dutch :P

Haha, well sorta! You're welcome :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63