You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Best Example of Cultural Assimilation

in #culture6 years ago (edited)

I've never watched a full episode of this show (don't really find it interesting) but I can it has definitely had an impact on my life in Korea, especially adapting to the social structure of conversing in Korean. I can say more than 80% of the people I've met in Korea have to urge to say 'you should be on TV. your Korean is so good. you can be like Sam O, 영국남자, etc." It is very daunting, and often annoying, when I just want to have a regular conversation. I have been on TV a few times but it isn't anything to brag and boast about. It was OK but not my cup of tea. I don't know... maybe it is just a personal problem.

Sort:  

Hahaa I apologize on behalf of all Koreans... I can definitely see how that's super annoying and Korea is definitely doing through a "tokenization" phase. Good for you for not getting swept up in that @normalbro. At least least the reactions are a lot different than even a decade ago when the stigmas of darker people were much more negative...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60171.52
ETH 2421.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46