One of the biggest lies of the modern society - “natural is a good”

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

As the society is progressing, more and more products contain artificial elements that we don’t understand. Furthermore, we know that many of these artificial elements are harmful to our health. This leads to “returning to nature” trend, which means that people are increasingly opting out for natural products.

But, in many cases, artificial elements are simply way better than the natural ones. For example, sure, you can clean your house with vinegar, but it’ll be much easier and effective to do it with a CIF cream. The same goes for our hygiene. Sure, you can find and purchase (for a relatively high price) a 100% natural soap, toothpaste, shampoo, deodorant, but I doubt that they will do the same (or nearly the same) job as products that combine safe artificial elements with some of the most useful natural ingredients.

The above examples are nothing when compared to medicine. Nowadays, many people think “I don’t like medicines, who knows what’s in there” and choose to use just natural “medicines”. Heeeeello there, medicine is, along with ICT, one of the sciences that have made the highest progress in the last 100 years! Of course, If you have a minor cold, you can just drink a tea with lemon and honey, get warm, and rest, but if you are seriously ill, you need to see a doctor and use an artificial medicine, as for a serious illness that is the best thing to do.

The similar thing is happening with the natural beauty trend. Ever since we evolved from monkeys (or got created by someone/something, choose whatever you like), we tried to make ourselves more beautiful. Why? Because it’s good to be pretty, as it is good to be healthy, fit, smart, educated, funny, rich, etc. There’s nothing wrong with that. Thus, it is normal and desirable that girls dye their hair if they are not happy with their natural color, that they use some makeup, that they dress well, that they depilate their legs etc. If we want to philosophize, it’s not even possible not to use beauty products at all, since all of our closing isn't (already for millenniums) just made to make us warm and comfortable, but it’s also tailored, dyed, and decorated to make us pretty. If we would want to be 100% naturally pretty, we would have to go around town naked!

- What do you think, is nature the only thing that should be given credit for the beauty of the girl from the picture?

If you liked this post, you would probably also like my post about reverse discrimination.

Have a wonderful day, week, and life!

Sort:  

That's enough! I'm following you.

I agree enough with you except in some things, I am a fervent supporter of nature, and I do not speak of using natural products, haha, ecology or anything like that, I speak of the natural order of things.

You are right that in many cases the artificial elements are much better than the natural ones, because the artificial ones were created explicitly for that purpose, while the leaves, plants, herbs, etc., do not. The elements like 100% natural soap, really are artificial, that is, the soap does not grow on a tree, anyway they subject it to different processes that make it artificial.

But with medications it is a delicate thing. I have not used any type of medicine for years, I do not trust neither the natural nor the artificial, and that is why, the medications are usually not used correctly. Alexander Fleming said that if you used an insufficient dose of antibiotics, that you were not able to kill the microbes, but that it was enough to expose them, then these microbes would become more resistant and evolve, making the antibiotic obsolete.

He believed that an ignorant man could make the mistake, but it turns out that ignorant men have been doctors, that's why the old antibiotics do not work today, and I'm not talking about outdated antibiotics, I'm talking about formulas.

Personally, I think that antibiotics end up making things worse, and they should only be used in life or death cases.

Thanks, I'm glad you like my posts. : )

"because the artificial ones were created explicitly for that purpose" - Exactly, good point!

I agree with you that many medications, including antibiotics, can make things (much) worse if used in an inappropriate or excessive way. I also prefer to go through any minor cold without artificial medications, but, of course, for some conditions we simply need them.

For example, I had a strong bronchial asthma when I was a kid, and although herbal remedies like Plantago syrup can help sometimes, without an inhaler I would die (or suffer a great deal) many, many times by now.

Cheers!

I'm not too sure I agree with you on natural beauty. I hate it when I scroll through facebook page after facebook page of flawlessly edited women. Where are all that natural bumps and curves? That's what makes a person, no? :)

We are actually on the same page here. I don't like excessive makeup or Photoshop editing until flawlessness neither. What I tried to say is that it is OK for a woman to use some makeup, dress well, etc. without being judged. It's natural behavior, as long as it's not excessive. For example, I think that the girl from the picture above has an optimum between natural beauty and makup. : )

I definitely agree with that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51