Billboards, Banter, and Bathrooms: Back in the USA - Observations of General Cultural Differences after 10 Days.

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

IMG_6583.JPG

Into week two here in the USA. You can read about week one's cultural observations here.

Summary:

Things are big. Things are fatty. Things are sugary. Bathrooms are not clean. Self-identified “Christians” are everywhere.

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t miss Japan. And sushi. And the just general attitude of everyone minding their own business and peacefully going their own way, without some blatant agenda or system of faith to sell you. Not that everyone has that here in the states, but again, I'm just speaking of my impressions of culture in general.

I miss how organized things in Japan tend to be. This aspect can also be a detriment, to be sure, and I am in love with so many things here in the geographical region called “the states,” but it is becoming more and more apparent that, indeed, this is not my home. I’m not sure it ever was.

Well, we’ll be back in Tokyo soon. We still have a New Year’s family get together/small party tonight, and then a couple more days in the states. I’m going to enjoy it. That said, there are observations to be made!

Individual Observations.

BILLBOARDS.
I had forgotten how many religiously and racially charged billboards are plastered all over the country.

JESUS IS REAL

Happy Birthday, Jesus!

REPENT OR BURN IN HELL!

Also, the tone of the advertisements in general strike me as funny. They are joking, sarcastic, and oftentimes contain sexual innuendos even for the most innocuous of topics/services. For example, I saw a roofing truck driving down the highway advertising roofing services which read “Get Joe’s Roofing. Get Laid.” It is my view that the prevalence of almost childish joking about sexual matters is a result of religious oppression and a general all-pervasive cultural/religious guilt about the body. I’m not saying these things aren’t ever funny. They are! It is just really amusing to see after being gone a while. It also reminds me of part of the reason I left for Japan. TOO MUCH REPRESSED SEXUALITY/GUILT/SHAME.

What is really amusing is how the religious billboards on the sides of the highways alternate with really gaudy “ADULT VIDEO” store advertisements. In Japan, these stores usually just have a figure of two crossed arms prohibiting those under 18 from entering. In the US, they really play up the fact that you will be visiting somewhere “dirty” and “naughty.” My wife remarked “Why do they make it so obvious!?”

BATHROOMS.
Public restrooms suck. On the way down to Tennessee my family stopped at a BP station and entered to find the women’s restroom out of order, a sign plastered to the door notifying us of this. Next to the women’s bathroom was a large placard which read “CLEAN RESTROOMS.” On entering the men’s room I immediately discovered—not to my surprise—that this was indeed, not the case.

IMG_6537 2.JPG

BANTER.
I’ll finish on a positive note. Last night, as everyone was winding down and just kind of sitting around the dining room table swapping stories, I was reminded of how good it is to laugh. Like, not to politely laugh, but to really fucking lose it. To make jokes. To turn red and have the tears show up from laughing really hard.

IMG_6578.JPG
Having a BLAST with my friend Dave at Karaoke!

So much of America is swapping stories. My family got into a round of recounting several humorous occurrences and episodes last night. It was easy and fun. You just sit around and shoot the shit. I forgot how good it was to be cynical, and to be funny. My friends here in the states laugh at my wisecracks, wit, and physical comedic acting a lot. This doesn’t really happen often in Japan. People tend to be…well…”composed,” in my general experience.

Also interesting to me is Japan's reputation for being polite and fake. While this is indeed true at times. I find the "openness" of America's friendliness to also be somewhat phony at times, hiding what is under the surface with words instead of silence, as is commonly done in Japan.

Well, that’s it for now.

America: Big. Messy. Fun.

Japan: Clean. Organized. Harmonious.

The above is just generalization and a biased assessment from one individual. I encourage you to take and make your own individual observations!

IMG_6584.JPG

CULTURE BONUS! At McDonald's in pajamas. OK IN USA.

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

I think southern California would make a different impression

I totally agree with you, excellent post

great topic,i like your post
thanks for sharing

nice post, happy new year guys

Sayang suka denagn budaya,,,, # @kafkanarchy84

Nice post, but I think Japanese people are colder then Americans.
Is it true? maybe i'm mistaken

Hello friend, all these are the effect of Japan's culture due to long time residential inhabitants. I see you are influenced greatly by Japanese life style,so you feel the difference. Thanks for sharing such a beautiful post, enjoy your time with your friends and family members, wish you and your family a very happy New Year.

Very nice bro :)

Great, good job @kafkanarchy84

American so-called "openness"is as fake as it gets and it is not appreciated in Israel at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45