Back in the USA - Observations of General Cultural Differences after 4 Days.

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

file0001654288918.jpg

The following are generalizations about the cultures of Japan and the United States of America, and are not meant to be taken as blanket truth statements about all individuals living in either region.

Cynicism in the USA:

As it has been four years since I have last been in the US, and a lot has transpired since then, politically, socially, and culturally, I've been trying to take note of differences between my now "home country" of Japan, and the part of the globe known as the USA.

One thing that has jumped out at me, even in the children here, is a kind of cynicism in general outlook. It is not always an unhealthy or defeatist-type cynicism, and often it is part and parcel of a kind of uniquely fun and "realist," American humor, but it is definitely something that can be contrasted with the general outlook and attitude of individuals living in Japan, in my limited (7 years) experience.

I was trying to put my finger on what this was, and it finally came to me this morning. There is almost an attitude of competition in the air in the states, even amongst friends, it would seem. There's a tendency toward mild and humorous self-denigration (and denigration of others), and a general callousness in approach to life, and need to be "tough." Of course, some people are downright mean, but you'll find that in any culture or country.

The "Innocence" of Japan:

Now, before anyone starts thinking this post is turning into some sort of "trash America" type piece, I want to say that the aforementioned "American cynicism" is a cherished part of my own personality, which especially comes out and which I especially relish when living in Japan. That said, the "innocence" of Japan is something I love, and have come to deeply appreciate.

What do I mean by "innocence?" Well, in Japan, there is a kind of general open-minded and unassuming acceptance of life as it comes, and an enthusiasm for, well, just about anything. I remember when I first arrived, taking a trip to a local historic town, eating salmon, and seeing a salmon drying facility and market. As we were driving home, my young student's parents and the student himself kept saying 楽しかったね! (That was fun!) over and over. I remembered thinking to myself:

Well, yes, that was interesting and sort of fun, but it wasn't THAT amazing.

I was still in what I call "American thrill mode" where everything described as "fun!" should be sort of big and exciting and EXTREME. Now I get it, though. The Japanese tend to be able to enjoy simple things, in the moment and as they come, more readily than their American counterparts, generally speaking, in my view.

I also noticed that when I told people in Japan about my band, my latest projects or creative endeavors, or about the small details of my life, they didn't try to "one-up" what I said in a kind of competition, but would seem genuinely interested, engaged, and excited when I spoke. I have since come to learn that this is not always genuine. I have to say though, even feigned interest and an attempt at politeness is now sometimes even favorable to me over the endless one-upmanship.

Before I get carried away, here, I am going to cut this short. I may write a couple more of these cultural comparison pieces while I am here.

Suffice it to say that what I really dig about American culture is its bent toward individualism, directness, innovation and creativity, and a kind of tough and playful cynicism which isn't necessarily an unfeeling or uncaring one. The dark side of this would be the sometimes nagging feeling of unending competition, and a need to mask one's gentler, more innocent side.

file0002105541648.jpg

I love Japan's culture for the general openness, mindfulness of others, and enthusiasm for even the smallest joys in life. The dark side of the culture being a tendency to be far too mindful of others, and a fear of reprisal from "the group" so intense as to subjugate the individual's creativity, ideas, and (physical and emotional) wants and needs to those of "the culture."

Thanks for reading!

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

When I visited Japan a few years ago, I was amazed how Japanese people are trying to not disturb you in any way, no one is speaking on the phone in the subway, no one is speaking loud, no one is using their horn in their cars, and then all of the sudden some American guy started screaming "Coming through" from his bicycle on the sidewalk where people were walking in a perfect 3 lines... I think that captures pretty much the two nationalities :D I don't mean to offend anyone, in fact in both of the countries I felt as very rude person just because everyone is smiling, maybe not sincere but still better fake smile then genuine grumpy face :)

Very important point to notice when comparing the two cultures. I know exactly what you mean. As I see it, Japan has something that most other countries are missing, while somehow it lacks an important something that can easily be found elsewhere. This could be simplified to collectivism but I see it going much deeper than that into focus of attention and potentially perception of reality. If the world could truly understand Japanese culture (trying to maintain harmony with your surroundings despite what comes) and if Japan could truly understand western culture (Becoming more able to form opinions and sharing them...at least sometimes...)

I will write extensively on this eventually. I just restarted my Japanese blog...nothing socdeep though, just friend chicken for now. I want to start easy and make some more Japanese friend s on here first.

I see it going much deeper than that into focus of attention and potentially perception of reality

If the world could truly understand Japanese culture (trying to maintain harmony with your surroundings despite what comes) and if Japan could truly understand western culture (Becoming more able to form opinions and sharing them...at least sometimes...)

Yes. I think you’ve nailed it here. Thanks for this keen observation.

I live in different country, China. And I often find that it takes me a couple of days to change my mindset back to being in America every where when i visit my family over the summer.

Yeah, it’s almost unsettling, right? Like being stuck between two ways of being.

You make some interesting points. I am a Canadian living in Central America. I see many differences between the cultures but many that are similar. It is interesting to note, that American ex-pats tend to live in small enclaves, usually in gated communities. Other ex-pats tend to live apart.

Nice post, I've never been to Japan or America so I can't really comment. But I did did enjoy reading this, I think that you get to see America with fresh eyes as you've been away for 4 years which in the end makes you all the more insightful.

I am fascinated by this topic. It really makes me happy to read your ideas about the Japanese culture and I will really like to see what you have to say anout the topic in the future. Please - when you write another post - do write about the vast phenomenon of Japanese refusing to marry or live like a could and submerging themselves in computer games. Reference to what you can find about the topic:
https://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2017/07/japan-mystery-low-birth-rate/534291/

I just wanna hear things from someone that visited there so recently

Hello @kafkanarchy84,

I noticed that too about the American people, there is always that need that they have to prove themselves to people.

I really don't know why that is, but maybe it is because of their political set up.

When I've been on holiday, American tourists are so full of energy and it rubs off on everyone else. They may be loud and obnoxious at first but their enthusiasm is inspiring.

Yes, i agree with you.

It is nice to hear of the comparisons you have made... travelling is fun as it helps people see so many ways of looking at things from varying perspectives. The length of time in each country is vital to make a really good comparison as you have here, but it can also be accomplished with periodic visits to the same countries each year.

nice to hear of the comparisons your travelling is fun as it helps people see so many ways of looking at things from varying perspectives.
hope i regular follow you , please follow me at @zillurkhan72

💙 Great post. Very good writing,i like this post 💙

       💛 Thanks for Sharing  💛

open music gif.gif

Interesting perspective, makes you wonder the differences you will see in 10 years time frame.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30