Meanwhile back in Houston..

in #culture5 years ago (edited)

You got Megan Thee Stallion tearing up the rap scene. And yes that's actually the name she goes by!

She's a rising Texas hip hop star who's probably headed for superstardom and using Texas icons like Mustangs, cowboy hats and chaps to help brand herself.

She's on fire. In fact she's so hot we can see the smoke from up here in North Texas!

The first Cowgirl rapper? I don't think the Cowgirl label applies here but it's good marketing. lol.

Here she is at a Spotify sponsored show:

download.jpg
source

I don't think I could find anything in the world that would be more OPPOSITE to the cowboy image, values and lifestyle than Megan Thee Stallion! lol.

But then in a way, that's what's so interesting about her. Here's a video of her performing on her first late-night tv appearance on Jimmy Kimmel. If you're into Twerking you'll love this video:

Of course, I'm not a hip hop fan and I have no idea what the words are except I could understand "I got what you need" and "big ol freak" lol. She's famous for Twerking so she does alot of that on the video.

Here's a still from that performance and a better look at the chaps and cowboy hat:

download (2).jpg
source

I assume she's very talented, if some of you like hip hop you can let me know what you think.. I have no idea but since she's all over the web and the country she must be good.

Another Western themed look with cowboy hat and chaps(sort of) lol.

download (3).jpg
source

More "Texas" looks?

download (5).jpg
source

Wow. Texas suddenly has a different image. Well, if any publicity is good then she will only help. Right?

You know what the most interesting thing about her is? To me at least? She's a student at Texas Southern University in pursuit of a degree in health administration! lol. Good for her.

I wonder if she'll finish. I don't think she'll need to is she doesn't feel like it.

For a Rolling Stone interview shoot she dropped the Cowgirl look and went straight urban hottie. She likes to show off her assets but I'm in awe of that bike. Now THAT'S a stallion!

download (6).jpg
source

Here's another look at that bike. If I had that bike I'd sell it, think how much steem you could buy with that!

jbqw5mv9ni.jpg
source

a0esw215rr.png

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas
the gentleman redneck

l1xgphrt5d.png

uvsylyennv.png

ak059z170l.png

Sort:  

Howdy Janton! I am back and I can't believe my eyes, lol. Does Mrs. J. knows you are watching this kind of videos, lol. Oh my goodness so Texas has a hip pop star! Well it's about time, lol. Personalty, I hate hip pop and I don't like country music so this is a perfect mix, lol.

Howdy Miss Lena! Yeah I don't like hip hop at all, I don't understand it. But you don't like Country music??? Oh my, that is too bad. lol...as far as the video, I watched it because of the post but will probably never see anything like that again in my whole life! lol. That's what made the post fun, because it's total opposite of my personality.
I would love to have that bike though, to sell.

Sorry Janton! I do not like Country Music, lol. I am more of a 80"s Euro New Wave fan and lately I am listening relaxing New Age music. Anyway, I was just teasing about your and the video! I know that is not something you wold be watching often, lol. And yes, having the bike to sell would solve all your problems, lol.

Howdy Miss Lena! I agree about the bike, but I might have to ride it awhile before I sold it! Or maybe I could have pictures taken of me on it! lol..in my cowboy clothes though. I don't even know what Euro New Wave is, do you have an artist I can look up on youtube or something?

Howdy Janton! I would love to see that photo of you on that bike in cowboy clothes, lol. I bet you would look like a Country Music Star!!! LoL!!!

You didn't know any Euro New Wave? What about Duran Duran, Depeche Mode, Eurythmics, U2, ELO, AH-a, Michael Oldfield.............that's only few examples.

But now I am mostly listening music like this:

Howdy MIss Lena! well I never did listen to any of those groups you listed but I have heard of three of them. This sounds very relaxing and soothing though, might put me to sleep if I listened for awhile.

I don't think I would look like a country music star, I think I'd look like an old redneck because of my white and silver hair!

She is the Real Nicki Minaj. I'm impressed.

haha! howdy Oatmeal! Yes she does look like Nicki doesn't she? Good observation.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Howdy esteemapp! Thanks so much for the upvote and for the great platform!

Hahaaa....now there's a different side to @janton as well as Texas!!! Good on her, I say...tho not my type of music :)

l agree. It's fun to see someone totally succeed but I don't understand rap music at all. lol.

Well that is painful! Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko Android

lol! I know what you mean dwingsworld! Thanks for commenting!

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 6% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy steem-plus! Thanks for the upvote!

Wow... Well, I'm not into hip-hop, but she certainly makes it look good. Definitely don't know about the cowgirl thing, given the music genre, but whatever.

Maybe the cross-culture thing is in. You could try singing country in a mariachi outfit or something :-)

lol! I think the cowgirl outfit and hip hop is insane but it's totally unique to the genre so good for her. I don't like any kind of hip hop at all, don't understand it and I can never understand the words. lol.

Wow... So she native? Or just a stage name. And nice bike.

And Texas needs some help. And medical marijuana!

Posted using Partiko Android

lol! yeah they need to get their act together on the medical marijuana that's for sure. I think she is a native Texan and I'm sure the name is just a stage name. surely. lol.

Never know I'm gonna look into her.

And go Texas. A friend spent 24 months in prison for hash oil... Texas... Their laws are good...

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy again sir ganjafarmer! Sounds good. Well, I don't know about the prisons but the jails suck to spend time in, at least our local one does, Mrs. J . is a guard.

Definitely impressive cowgirl. Not the kind of cowgirl I was thinking of being in my childhood. 😂

lol! I'm sure that's right! No one has ever seen a cowgirl like her!

You got a 18.26% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @janton! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Howdy ocdb! Thanks so much for the upvote and for helping so many people!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65915.92
ETH 3486.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67