The Unique Features of Camotes Island and Its Locals | The Hidden story Unveiled

in #culture6 years ago (edited)

People who had been there always highlight their travel experiences, their feeling of satisfaction when they travel to this amazing place but today, let us pay attention to what Camotes Island can offer, the story untold in the community, the craft that is almost forgotten to be given honor. Let us be astound by their culture which made the locals unique in their own way.

PhotoGrid_1517618586821.jpg

One-line family business in Camotes Island.

Hello there Steemians!

It has been a long time since I posted my last blog for you. Today I am going to share to you an unforgettable experience in the perspective of a first-timer in an island full of surprises. Without further ado, let's begin!

I have always been wanting to visit the Island of Camotes since college days. I had a classmate who was from there who kept inviting everyone to come to her hometown. Many of the people I know of have been talking about how beautiful the sceneries are from its pristine white beaches to its gorgeous caves that the travelers have been crazy about. On thursday, @indayharagwapa and I finally got the chance to visit this most talked about island in Cebu.

On the night before the trip, I thought of the things I wanted to do in the island and the topics I wanted to write about. I've been to other islands before but I was with my relatives so I relied on their plans all the time but this time, I had to think of the things to do since it was just the two of us. So I looked up in the internet and checked some bloggers' write ups on what they usually do when they stayed in the island. As expected, they focused on the traveling experience itself, how they get there, what transportation to take, what food to eat, what tourist spots to visit, etc. What I saw never satisfied me.


Different Perspective


While thinking of these thoughts, I remembered @ybanezkim26's words that states, "when you write something, try to look on a different perspective; write the things that have never been written before". I paused for a second and brainstormed for a moment. The daylight came and it was time to go I still had no answers to my questions. What will I write? What do I feel to write about? How should I supposed to see things in a different way? Is there some sort of energy that would suddenly struck me from the sky and give that idea? I just didn't know.

27718219_2063334873686581_578886709_n.jpg
Me blogging on a pen and paper.

The moment of truth had arrived. We were on the way to the pension house that we were about to checked in when I saw people along the highway making "Amakan" in English it's "Bamboo-weaved walls" made from the skin of the bamboo. There were about 6-8 people who were working, doing the same thing on both sides of the road. I ignored them and never thought of anything special to that. It was a common way to earn a living among the locals in the town, I thought.


The Family Business - The Brains


We settled our things and called the front desk to take our first-ever day-tour in the island. We were very excited to discover the places we've never been. We were able to make a deal with the tour guide/ motorcycle driver who happened to be the husband of the receptionist. Along the way to our destination in the same town, I thought of having a small talk/short interview with the driver. When I asked him about the "Amakan-makers" I saw earlier, I was intrigued of his answer. They were the only people in the entire island who are running the business and what's more intriguing, they are family!

PhotoGrid_1517619619186.jpg

The grandfather taking a rest with his granddaughter.

I was flabbergasted! Immediately, I asked the driver to bring us to the place where this family manufactures their craft. In my mind, I thought that they have this workshop or a small indoor area where they make these things. I had a chance to chit-chat with these young ladies about what they are good at doing - bamboo weaving and I found out that this small yard outside their hut is where they make these high-quality bamboo-weaved walls.

PhotoGrid_1517618501032.jpg

The sisters weaving together.

Bamboo-weaving is a skill that has been passed on by their forefathers. The fathers of their fathers started this family business and it is still progressing until this generation up to the next. The process of weaving the bamboo is a technique which only them know about it. They know how many bamboo strips to be weaved at the same time until they make a whole piece. I asked them why only their family line is doing the business, one lady said she doesn't know. The other one stated that nobody in the neighborhood dared to approached them asking how is it made. The older lady said that probably it was too difficult for the people to do the same because of the scrutiny of the job.

PhotoGrid_1517618528873.jpg

How the Amakan wall panels are made?

Step 1.

Cut the whole bamboo across in the same size with the others.

27718885_2063404920346243_735545692_n.jpg

Image source

Step 2.

Cut it lengthwise into 6-8 pieces depends on the size of the bamboo.

PhotoGrid_1517618557388.jpg

Step 3.

Cut it into thin strips.

PhotoGrid_1517618375671.jpg

Step 4.

WEAVE!

PhotoGrid_1517618618030.jpg

Step 5.

The Finished product.

PhotoGrid_1517618454808.jpg

Look at that pattern.

PhotoGrid_1517618413038.jpg

The also make other products aside from the wall panels.

It looks easy isn't it? No, it's not as easy as you think it is.


The Houses


Camotes Island is composed of 2 islands. It has 4 municipalities namely, San Francisco, Todela, Poro and Pilar. San Francisco which the locals pronounced as "Samprans" is the biggest town in the island while Pilar is the only municipality that is separated in another island. I went around in the morning and was stunned by the view of the villages around. Most of the houses in San Francisco, Todela and Poro are made of - guess what? Yes, "Amakan" that the family were making for decades now.

PhotoGrid_1517619406416.jpg

Do you agree that houses are one of the expressions of our identity? It has been an extreme significance in people's response to satisfy our needs which based on the characteristics of our environment and socio-cultural beliefs. It is one of the most important aspects of our lives. These houses give the place its uniqueness which reflect the uniqueness of the inhabitants.

PhotoGrid_1517619264183.jpg

PhotoGrid_1517619430790.jpg
I was amazed thinking of how this family of "Amakan" manufacturer had changed the lives of the people in the entire island. I was bewildered thinking of how this family made every home of every family in the island become more comfortable and a better shelter to live in. Their hardwork have been a great impact to the lives of the locals and a great example of creating high quality crafts.

PhotoGrid_1517619290852.jpg

PhotoGrid_1517619171311.jpg

As you can see, the houses are quite old but the walls are still intact. The architectural structure of these houses reflect the culture of the people in the island. The role of these amakan walls have been a trademark and created a big impact to all the locals in Camotes.

PhotoGrid_1517619198890.jpg

PhotoGrid_1517619504141.jpg

Security is not an issue in this island. As you can see there are no gates or fences around the houses. No security cameras, canines, no security guards, nothing. I asked our tour guide about the security in the place and he said, robbery is not even a concern. Illegal drugs do not exist too. The place is too peaceful I can't even put into words.

PhotoGrid_1517619135751.jpg

PhotoGrid_1517619226216.jpg

It is very captivating to look at all the houses because they are in harmony. They have common features. They are about 6 feet tall, they have small windows - some of which do not have window panels. Each of them has a small garden in front or at the backyard, they use woods as the main building material, and most of the roofs are made from coconut leaves and thatches. The same design, the same materials and the same hands who crafted to make their homes look great.

PhotoGrid_1517619479270.jpg

PhotoGrid_1517619586999.jpg


The Locals


Going around Camotes Island for the first time was a priceless experience. Meeting the locals, seeing their smiles every time they greet you is a thing that would stay in my heart forever. The culture of the locals are eminently bestowed upon us as they've shown their hospitality, warmth on our visit.

PhotoGrid_1517620440139.jpg

Meet one of the Counselors in town (in red shirt on the left) and his "barangay tanods". They are very humble people.

You'll see the locals along the street busy talking with each other whether they're doing business or just chit-chatting. We approached them with a picture taking and they were very much willing to do so. Some of them expressed their shyness because they haven't taken a shower yet which was funny to me. I used to react like that too when I was still young. Growing in the countryside makes a person less confident when meeting people from the urban area. I had this belief that city people are higher than me but I was wrong. We are all the same no matter what our social status is.

PhotoGrid_1517620393945.jpg

A man along the street selling "TUBA" or Coconut wine.

The locals in Camotes and the locals in Cebu are quite different in interacting with their guests. I've observed that Camotes people are not very talkative when they are ask questions. They are "one-question, one-answer" type of people. I feel like they are really shy people - not all of them but majority. While Cebu people tend to jive more with their guests. We they are ask something, they feed you information that might be helpful to in going around the place - well, even not so helpful ones. They are just more talkative.

PhotoGrid_1517620638224.jpg

A small market in the Island.

The people are living a very simple life. Their main source of income is fishing and farming. People living near the commercial area drive motorcycle to fetch the tourists back and forth and earn a living thought it. Some drivers are taking their multicabs as a transportation to both locals and tourists. Some of them have stalls near the port and sell goods such as snacks, drinks, viands and other commodities. Their income rely on the number of tourists who visit their island.

27721228_2063427493677319_1108932427_n.jpg

PhotoGrid_1517620461564.jpg

The most popular occupation in town - motorcycle driving.

PhotoGrid_1517620665151.jpg

The jeepney drivers. They offer you different tour rates when you get off from the boat.

There are several income sources in the island. It might look really small and less populated, but there are plenty of simple jobs to do to earn a living. Camotes has no SM malls or Ayala malls unlike Cebu but they have a small grocery shop called Fiesta mall. I think they do not usually get their goods from there but from the supermarket which offers lower prices in all goods.


Dragon Fruit and Grapes


Another thing that captured my attention was the field of "Pitaya" or better known as the "dragon fruit". This is a native plant from Mexico, Central and South America. Little did I know that Camotes island produces it too! This was a real surprise for me. There are some people who have a vast private land cultivate this fruit. I was in doubt if this is really a dragon fruit because it looks like a cactus to me but I found out that this is a "night-blooming-cactus" which means it belongs in the cactus family. Funny.

PhotoGrid_1517618797038.jpg
This is richer in fiber, vitamins, minerals and phyto albumins.

PhotoGrid_1517618669769.jpg

The dragon fruit grow on a climbing cactus plant. They build pillars on the field to let the cactus grow freely. If it crawls on the ground, you know what will happen. I wanted to count all the pillars but I was running out of time. This is really a breath-taking view, a once in a lifetime opportunity.

PhotoGrid_1517618767885.jpg

PhotoGrid_1517618823782.jpg

This exotic fruit is mouth-watering light sweet taste, its intense color and shape add its beauty. Based on a study, dragon fruit contains a lot nutrients and minerals that it becomes suitable for all diets. Some people who have diabetes, high blood pressure and obesity have attested to the fruit's goodness.

Dragon-fruit-field.jpg
This is how it looks like when bearing fruits.
Image source

What's more interesting is that beside it, is a vineyard. I have never seen a field of grapes and a field of dragon fruit in my entire life. Unfortunately, it is not a season to harvest so I didn't see any single fruit in the vineyard. Summer is the season for grape-picking.

PhotoGrid_1517618703539.jpg

The Vineyard.

PhotoGrid_1517618733473.jpg

I have known that aside from planting rice and corn, the locals also grow different kinds of crops. I've never heard a place in Cebu which cultivates these unique fruits. I realized that traveling isn't just about enjoying oneself but it is more about engaging to the community, connecting to the people, discovering cultures and appreciating the lives of people who have not been recognized by the world.

Camotes Island is notably marvelous and great. It has so much to all the people in the world. Its unique features is something that you can admire and something you can be proud of as a Filipino. This is a perspective of a first-timer who always wants to love and appreciate every art and culture of every place in the world.

PhotoGrid_1517620335818.jpg

First of all, I thank God for every opportunity he gave me. Second, I thank those people who are always rooting for me and who keep inspiring new writers like me to be better. Thank you @ybanezkim26, @thegaillery, @legendaryll for consistently writing exceptional contents that motivate every Steemians to do the same. I would also want to thank @themanualbot for encouraging everyone to be at their best in everything. @surpassinggoogle and @bayanihan for sharing their blessings to everyone. You guys rock!

Steem on!

Until next time,

@honeyletsgo

Sort:  

Nice one hon! Keep it up! Sumusunod naka ni gail! 😊

thanks @glennamayjumaoas. di pa sad kaayo ko makasunod HAHAH. gamay2 lang usa. looking forward to your curie soon! Steem on!

Ana jud ng mga lodi oy. Mga humble kaayo. Steem on jud ta hon! hahah

ok already I vote. do not forget to vote back

Wanna go back to Camotes. Waah Im surprised, there were hidden paradise aside from their breathtaking beaches. Nice write up @honeyletsgo I've got learnings everytime. Steem On!

yes. there were a lot of surprising things you'll discover in the island. you should visit! :D

I am from Leyte but I've never been to that island. I can even see the island from our beach and fisherfolks said it is just a good 45 minute boat ride. I do know that their culture is rich. Your attention to details is just marvelous. People that became my classmates that eventually turned to my friends are indeed good and kind people rooting from the simple life they live in.

I hope to visit the place someday. I could also wish that I would experience the sight that you behold.

Thank you for noticing the details of it @luigienius. I also hope you can visit the island one day. It's all worth it. :)

Looking at your pictures, I'm sure it is. Haha

Duol rman unta sa amoa oyy

You rock! Wooh! Libre na yan! Girl na amaze ko sa imo growth! Kahilakon ko.

Salamat kim. tungod gyud ni sa imong mga lectures nako. hahaha. salamat kaayo. pildi hilak oy. :D

Lecturan pa taka ug daghan. Ayaw kabalaka. Haha

Wooooow grabe congrats @honetletsgo!!!
The efforts of kim in promoting quality posts are starting to pay off. From now on, I will consider kim as An Advocate of High Quality Posts

It's nice to see you during tge meetup honey, tho wala kaayo ta nagkatabi kaayo hahaha see you again soonest :)

bitaw wala kaayo ta nagka chika @smaeunabs. nahurot gyud akong bilib nimo sa imong lecture. to more lectures in the future!

yaaaay puhon magchika to the max nagyud ta ninyo :D To more payamanin goals :D

Very good post
We have a community business in West Africa using palm tree leaves to make a lot of arts.
Handmade products that we can support to improve our rural communities income.
Thank you again for this post.

wow :) that sounds great @oadissin. I hope the people can still enrich your handmade products in west Africa and will be known to the world someday. :)

Wow really amazing post ..
Beautiful family business .
What a beautiful walls baskets.
It's difficult to cut the whole bamby in the same size .
I really like this family and their work.
I appreciate this family. I am also artist and like doing this type of work.
Upvoted,resteem

thank you so much for your good words @sairakiyani. :)

My pleasure sis

After reading your blog I think I wanna visit camotes and experience this kind of fun too. :)

@faithvarron you should go girl. It's worth it! ^^

Nice perspective about Camotes @honeyletsgo, my favorite island so far. @ayingroxie told me that there is a dragon fruit farm somewhere in Ronda and a mom friend bought some from a dragon fruit farm in Toledo. It's interesting to see them bearing fruit. I'd like to know next how to plant them and what conditions will they be cultivated.

hahaha. mao ba te? asa man nato na itanom te oy nga grabe gyud na sila kadagko. murag gyud silag dragon. wahahaha

This is amazing. Thanks for taking the time to share this. Mind expanding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94