Kathakali-traditional dance form of Kerala, India.

in #culture6 years ago

Greetings Steemians!

I was very busy this week. I couldn't make posts on Steemit. Today, I found some time to use Seemit. So, I am going to show you photos related to my last trip of Kerala which is the south -western state of india and is called "God's own country".

Kerala is famous for its natural beauty, nice beaches, Ayurveda and its rich traditions. Kathakali is a traditional dance of Kerala which involves exotic make-up and use of heavy garb and masks. It takes lots of time for the artists to get ready for their performance. Make-up is an integral part of this dance form. But the most important is the mix of music, songs and gesture of the artists.

In this dance form some stories ate selected from the religious texts and transformed in songs. Dancers narrate the story through their gestures, body movement and non-verbal bodily expressions. I had seen this dance on television but when I got a chance to see it live, I took photos of the performance so that I may share it with the community. I hope you would like these photos.

image

image

image


Thank you. Have a great time ahead.
Sort:  

Once I was in Gods own country but couldn't get the chance to see the kathakali dance form. Thanks for sharing such lovely information about our rich culture. Nice images.

Sorry I couldn't reply in time. This dance form is very nice. I was lucky to witness this act.

How are you friends? miss you a lot,long after the community came to your photo activities are very good to me.I hope you celebrate this time with great joy.

Good to see you dear after such a long gap. I am fine and you? Sorry I couldn't reply in time as I was not using net much these days. Thank you for your support and encouragement.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82