Should We Power Up In Various Tribes Or Steem? Or Both?

in #ctp5 years ago (edited)


So it's no secret...The birth of Steem-Engine's tribes has been a roaring success for the Steemians that have been dreaming of SMT's since day one!

I know in my journey, it's exactly what I've been waiting for...The ability to combine by two passions and bring it to that blockchain!

I had a fantastic question asked tonight by one of my most valued customers over the years and a brand new Steemian @RussellStockley

He asked....

Question: is staking CTP just as effective as staking steem ??

This is such an important question and I'm going to do my best to give you what I do and how I manage my Steem / Tribe tokens...

First, I'm a huge believer in the Steem blockchain. And with that, I know the potential that Steem Power has on all our journeys. Heck there was a 'gut check' post done yesterday by @Stackin that showed us how affordable it is to become 'Minnow Status' on the Steem blockchain with these cheap prices. (Minnow status is any account over 500 Steem Power)

So yes, I think we should all get as much Steem Power as we can get...Especially if you have a long term vision of this entire blockchain and it's various projects.

Now...When it comes to specific tribes, I power up in them as well.

But right now there are hundreds of projects using the Steem-Engine platform, so powering up in all of them would be a nightmare...Logistically.

However I do power up in the Tribes I believe in and want to contribute to.

I'm a huge fan of @Steem.Leo @ReggaeSteem @SportsTalkSocial @Splintertalk and a few others. So I stake (or Power Up) in those individual tribes.

And obviously, I'm working full time on the @ClickTrackProfit tribe and developing the CTPtalk.com condenser. But I'm taking that out of the equation in this example, simply because I want to focus on the tribes I have no 'ownership or management' stake in...

Here's my game plan for let's say....The @SportsTalkSocial project.

I produce 'Sports' content every week. You should check it out ;)

This is a tribe I believe has the power and potential to branch outside of the 'blockchain' space and attract some amazing content creators. Sports is BIG business and the more awareness this token creates, the more creators it can attract. So I not only power up from the curation and rewards I get...I have purchased quite a bit of SPORTS as well.

steem

(I just bought 10k SPORTS during this post and powered it up....LOL)

So there's an example of 'staking'...In a project I believe in!

And that goes for multiple projects on Steem-Engine...There is a lot of potential being built here every day :)

So to answer the question Russell asked...

I do both!

I believe in STEEM, more than ever these days...And see what is being built here. Real community. Real potential!

But I also believe in some of these amazing project and tribes forming on Steem-Engine as well.

So for me, it's powering up in both....Steem and the Tribes I believe in!


clicktrackprofit

The Union Is Here!

Blockchain meets Affiliate Marketing....

=> CTP Condenser - https://www.CTPtalk.com

=> CTP Token on Steem-Engine - https://steem-engine.com/?p=market&t=CTP

=> CTP Miner on Steem-Engine - https://steem-engine.com/?p=market&t=CTPM


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://plus1daily.com/should-we-power-up-in-various-tribes-or-steem-or-both/

Sort:  

This is what I'm doing currently:

When I'm dropped a new token, I try to decide my level of interest and the level of potential popularity/success of the tribe.

If both are low, I usually sell it and move on. On a couple, I have not and now wish I did. I just don't have enough time or attention to fool with them. If you stake them and decide to get rid of them later, it can be a pain and take a long time to get out!

If one of those things is high and one low, I stake and kind of forget about it.

If both are high, I stake AND actively curate.

In the ones that i have a very high interest I plan on staking, curating, creating, and investing funds.

One of my highest interests is investing, so I have actually stopped powering up STEEM temporarily to throw some funds at LEO. Ironically, it probably makes more investing sense to stay with the base token (if STEEM dies I don't think any tribe will make it), but I gotta go with the passion.

All in all, none of it really matters. None of them cost me a dime initially anyhow :-)

Oh yeah. I did stake and do curate (well...some) CTP ;-)

ha ha ha very nice :) thank you for the belief in CTP!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love Steem. You know that.

I'm no where near so happy with Steemit Inc, but that isn't the point. Or maybe it is. I have a strategy similar to yours. Pick the tribes I want to support and stake their coins. In the case of PAL, I also buy when I can.

Speaking of buy, I wish I had some 'non essential to life' money right this instant. I'd be buying all the Steem I could. But I'm so broke I can't pay attention right now so it's a slow go.

Thanks for addressing what could be problematic for some. It's important.

For sure man....Yeah I've been still dollar cost averaging into STEEM, but it's tough at these prices to not dive in fully LOL

Would love to see you back around CTP man. Things have changed big time and I think you would love it!

Steem is the basis for everything that happens on the chain. I'm powering up on pal and sports as well but neither of them has the same utility as steem will in the future.

I think that they can be a big opportunity in their own right in the future as people join the tribes rather than through steemit but at the end of the day any profit made will be through steem. It is what you need to operate on here and what all the tokens are traded against.

Future users might only earn fractions of steem and lots of engine tokens but the profit will be made by the steem holders. The other tokens will be more about utility than making money. Good for using the tribes and getting their benifits but will be traded back to steem if they want to spend it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I like how you're thinking.

Future users might only earn fractions of steem and lots of engine tokens but the profit will be made by the steem holders.

In the future, regular users might earn no STEEM at all. Only buy it.

Maybe. Depends on how many users we have. All I know is that I will be here to see it. Who knows what will be here in 5 years time.

Posted using Partiko Android

It'll be interesting to see what the future brings. But I agree, Steem is the backbone to all this. And that's why I will always power up in Steem!

I hit my SP target for the year so now I will try to build up my steemmonsters deck even more and keep adding SP. I won't be selling any STEEM until we hit at least $5. Even then I won't touch my sp as that is the basis of everything going forward. Just keep powering up and growing.The more people that we can get into that mindset the better the price will be.

Urgh, the Steemmonsters stuff kills me...I feel like I missed out and have no idea how to catch up....That's why I'm just staking SPT lolol

It is what you need to operate on here and what all the tokens are traded against.

This might hold no truth in the future.

Maybe not to trade against but you will still need SP or RC to do anything on here and with RC delegation coming in next it will be good to power up now while it's cheap. I never though I would get the chance to get to this level so it's great to do it while the prices are shit. I'm planning long term on here and don't worry about the price now.

need SP or RC

It really might not be the case for the end user. Actually, I hope it won't be and I'm actively working towards that goal. Don't worry, though! SP and RC will still be crucial to everyone doing actual business in this blockchain, so if anything, your SP should be even more valuable when that time comes.

Definitely power up those tokens .
1 ) They give you a greater chance of being heard in that community.
2 ) You should be supporting the community you are in and helping it to grow.
So find the community that best suits the niece you are interested in and start Staking those tokens.
Great post @jongolson.
Have an awesome day!

Posted using Partiko iOS

thanks man. and i agree completely:)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I currently am staking all the tokens I receive in airdrops. I will keep them staked for a while and determine later which ones to sell. I have been adding to the ones I use the tags for on my posts. The other ones I'm tracking my curation earnings. If I'm earning from curation then that means I'm supporting people I follow.

that’s a really good game plan. it seems to be working for sure

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for this post, Jon! Really helpful for a newbie like me. ^_^

awesome to hear that. and thank you so much for all your hard work with ctp!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Absolutely, power them up. I've been posting under several of the front ends and finally started my own NATRL. It's extremely exiting!

Love that you've launched CTP as well. I'll be visiting it often, as I'm putting a ton of time onto managing the marketing, quality of content for our niche and the token. I'm sooo, so, stoked about Steem and it's future.

I think steem-engine has ignited the Steem under Steem Inc's ass around SMT's.

oh awesome man. i saw that project and poked around a bit!

and yup. i completely agree. this is what steem was meant to be!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think buying both is a good idea. You do not need very many tribe tokens to get a decent amount of influence. For example i think you are already a "whale" in CTP if you have 300 CTP staked.
And Steem will probably be much harder to earn in the future so buying now should be a good idea!

I am not sure it would be that low. Many have 1000 even 2000 and top 20 more than that

yeah i think the idea of less steem to be earned and more project tokens can be the future. so i’m stocking up :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great advice @jongolson having to many tokens from air drops that you are not interested in can be confusing. I have sold most of the tokens that I am not interested in and have bought ctp miners and tokens, sportstalk , gg, epic, steem leo,palnet , jahl, and a few more. Also still working on building up my steem somewhere around 675 steem now and by the end of the year I want to be at 1,000 steem power. So for the rest of the year it is earn stake, buy and stake as much as I can.

Right now is a great time to get some more Steem. Priced just right for us :)

You invest base on your own interest and then the money will follow.

Completely agree man!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77