Some thoughts on trying to find new members for crypto project

in #cryptomark6 years ago

As I've been trying lately to find and invite some new people to share our journey, I've been frustrated a bit. Being a "newborn" cryptolover, I don't quite understand now, how people can't see the opportunities behind the whole idea... Let alone the philosophy of the decentralization and rebel ideas of weakening the control of authorities (which are certainly good in a way), but even the practical idea of the crypto currencies - earning money - does not seem to be motivating enough.
It’s not that I try to earn more on referrals (which would be good but not crucial). I really wish this project a great success and I liked the idea of direct recruitment instead of posting referral links everywhere - for the sake of quality and loyalty, so I turned to my friends first of all. No success. There are different reasons, actually, why. First, it is something new and unknown, and we tend to be suspicious in such cases. Second, since it's new, you have to learn the subject, dig deeper than the common knowledge that there is a bitcoin and there are idiots who sold it for two bucks a couple of years ago. We live in very interesting times, when the world changes almost every day, and the changes are drastic. In order to live in the same rhythm with the world you have to constantly learn, the lazy one stays in the past. All my friends are between 35 and 45 – the age when in most cases you already have some kind of stability in your life: profession, job, family. Not many people are ready to get out of their comfortable world and start some totally new page in their lives. I was fortunate to discover the crypto-world for myself. I don’t think that it’s going to be my main source of income (who knows, though?!), but definitely it’s going to be a very interesting and important part of my life. I’ve tried to explain the prospective to my friends, but in vain. They still do not want to realize that the future is now. Additional issue is the language problem – unfortunately, this problem is typical for our country due to different reasons. The young generation is already aware of necessity of learning English (at least), the older ones were not taught properly at school and those who didn’t do it themselves do not know foreign languages enough.
So, quite naturally, I decided to turn to the crypto community in Telegram. I take part in many crypto start-ups, because I want to gain more experience in this field, to learn it from many sides (it even cost me some money in a scam ICO, but the more you pay, the better you learn). But this population turned to be problematic for another reason… First of all, I respect the rules of the communities and do not advertise openly in the group chats. I try to find people who seem to me suitable and write a message to them personally. But you have to know, that to find such a person is a very difficult task. You go to a group with around 2k users and see a lot of people, mostly teenagers, or in their early 20s, from poor countries, who spam the group with endless “when airdrop?!” and you see that there is nobody here who would be ready to work with the team, be supportive or helpful. The only thing they are interested in is a small amount of tokens, the quicker the better, and possibility to sell them immediately at some exchange for a dump price. They do not want even to hold the tokens for a month or two, to look for the dynamics. Five or ten quick bucks are all they want. Certainly, this is not our audience; I don’t even want to share our link to them, because I know their intentions very well. So I thoroughly read users’ comments in the chats trying to figure out who could be a suitable candidate for my invitation. I found several and wrote to them, some of them displayed interest, but time passes and they still have not joined us.
Dear all, which strategies do you prefer in finding “new blood” for the project? Have you encountered the same problems? Sorry for your attention :-)

Sort:  

Thank you Elish for this comment. I know exactly what you are talking about. I think the problem is really that for many grown up the technology is still so difficult to explain. You need a wallet (what's that), than you cannot chose a password as simple as your birthday etc.

I am thinking indeed if it might be better to do another referral opportunity which is based on a referral link. You will probably find lots of new subscribers as you described, but many of our current loyal and high quality users have been found like this as well. What do you think?

I’ll answer on our forum, since it’s more relevant for this discussion, I think

Ok, that makes sense. toking forward to your thoughts.

Great post. The same thing happened to me. Nobody wanna spend time to build up a community. I left some telegream groups when I read only the "when airdrop" or " Lambo" posts.

Thanks for your kind words. Yes, “when moon” and “when lambo” may be very annoying

When new (stranger) things appear, people need to be educated. Few of us are new adventurers, early adopters, especially when the comfort of life could be impacted . Accepting to enter a world where there are no benchmarks is difficult, requires time and patience ... and a guide. The best guide is the one with a legend. Nowadays legends are made, they are called story telling

Well, I guess the best motivator is a personal example of success... but I’m only a beginner and cannot show them how profitable it can be

nice read. good luck to your crypto journey!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51