You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is The UFC About To Become A Dirty Joke?

Huge MMA fan here.

There is PED use in every sport and actually the UFC has been improving on this.

About Jones, whatever the rule is...

PED users should be banned for life.

Dude, I was rooting for Jones but watching Cormier crying like that was the opposite of hilarious. Seriously how can you think that it was hilarious, that was such a humiliation...

Some fighters prefer Bellator but not for that reason. It's about contracts and the way they treat fighters.

Bellator is actually way worse than the UFC when it comes to PED use...

Sort:  

There is PED use in every sport and actually the UFC has been improving on this.

You're right, it is in every sport, some worse than others. I do think the UFC has been improving, however there are some notable exceptions. I think Anderson Silva's let off was a joke and if they let off Jones then that is a clear and distinct message.

If you get caught and you're a nobody, you will be banned and made an example of. If you're somebody that Dana White admires, then you can pretty much do what you want.

Three times, THREE times.

Seriously how can you think that it was hilarious, that was such a humiliation...

It is to my eternal shame that I reacted like that. DC is actually a great guy and I just got caught up in the whole rivalry and was so behind Jones that I revelled in him utterly crushing Cormier. Ugh, I'm disgusted with my reaction, no excuse.

Some fighters prefer Bellator but not for that reason. It's about contracts and the way they treat fighters.

I know it's about contracts, but it kind of filters down that if you're a champ you'll get away with PEDs is what I was getting at.

Bellator is actually way worse than the UFC when it comes to PED use...

I am not knowledgeable enough to comment on this, it just seems to me that the Bellator fighters don't seem as pumped up as the UFC's. However I defer to your greater knowledge in this area. I'm new to the sport and pretty much only watch the UFC.

Thanks for the comment, great to hear from a big fan :-)

Cg

USADA is what's helping cleaning the sport. It's not perfect but it's way better than everything we had before. Bellator doesn't have USADA testing...

Bellator doesn't have USADA testing...

Oh wow, I had no idea. Does it have any kind of anti-doping policy?

Cg

There is almost no testing at Bellator, actually 0 testing when their events are in the middle of nowhere with no commission. Ben Askren once said that he had only been tested once (already had 8 fights when he said that)...

Wow, thank you for enlightening me. In that respect the UFC are absolute angels compared to Bellator.

I still believe that they want to make excuses for the stars. Like if Conor got caught (I don't believe he is a cheat btw), they would move heaven and high water to make sure he served a year or less.

Maybe I'm wrong, but this whole Jones debacle is making me think that. It's been months and the guys constantly on Youtube and Instagram talking about his next fight as if nothing has happened.

Cg

But that's true for anything else in this unfair world so can't just blame the UFC. Think about it if all of a sudden something happened to the top 10 NBA players don't you think that everyone would try anything to keep them playing?

Funny that you mentioned Conor, he already got special treatment, to me that's even more disgusting that letting Jones fight...if any other fighter did what Conor did they'd be out of the UFC after five minutes...

Very true, though it doesn't make it any more right...

Also true about Conor, in fact fighters have been ejected for similar/less. I'm thinking Paul Daley.

Though I don't agree that it is more disgusting than letting Jones fight, it's hard to quantify it, but I just think that Jones is years of calculated cheating. Conor was one moment of madness.

Cg

You are right about not making it any more right...

Conor could have killed someone with that though and Rose Namajunas actually has been having problems leaving her house since that happened, she might be having issues because of this for her entire life but yeah hard to quantify.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60343.62
ETH 2490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53