Report: Building a NVIDIA GPU Mining Rig in 2017 (part 1) - ZEN, ZCash, ETH and more incoming!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

This is the introduction to my detailed GTX 1070 mining report.

GTXSteemit_rev01_smallB.jpg

Currently I am waiting for my PCIe risers to arrive. Until then I have plenty of time to test some different GTX 1070 models I have recently ordered, using my small dual-GPU setting via my desktop computer.

Additionally I will provide benchmarks of my old GTX 970 as well as a GTX 1080ti which I recently bought mainly for gaming.

GTXSteemit_rev02_small.jpg
Differences in size can be quite dramatic. Fortunatelly all models have great cooling solutions, with the one in the middle (Palit) currently my slight favourite - it seems extremely well built, is among the fastest that I tested and stays quite cool compared to some other cards.

GTXSteemit_rev03_small.jpg
As I said I will provide detailed benchmarks for different hashing algos in the near future. Right now here are some basic ETH numbers:

  • MSI GTX 1080ti
    stock: 31 MH/s; with OC: 35 MH/s
  • Gainward GTX 1070
    not tested yet
  • Palit GTX 1070
    stock: 25,5 MH/s; with OC: 27,5 MH/s
  • ZOTAC GTX 1070
    stock: 25 MH/s; with OC: 26,8 MH/s

NOTE: These numbers are in dual-mining mode using dcri 80 for higher SIA mining results.

Detailed stats including power consumption coming soon!


If you are interested in my AMD R9 Nano and RX470 built, check out my previous post.

Let me know about your mining experiences.
Please comment and share.

Follow me @xwerk. /|\ ^._.^ /|\

Sort:  

Very interesting! I've been trying to learn about this for a while. Looking forward to the next installment. Currently I have stuck to cloud mining because I haven't found a cheap enough gpu mining rig to build!

Yeah NVIDIA builds aren't exactly the cheapest. Unfortunatelly it is near to impossible to get some RX480s or RX580s for a reasonable price right now. I'll keep you posted, if there will be a crash/correction in the altcoin market I think a lot of GPU miners that jumped in late (like myself) could have a hard time to make a positive return on investment.

Yeah, thats another reason that I have hesitated to start investing in a GPU miner!

Niceee! Have you heard apparently all the graphics cards are selling out and the Russians are buying them all haha

Interesting! I heard that not only the AMD cards but slowly but surely the NVIDIA, especially GTX1060 and GTX1070, start to become hard to get. Where did you get your info that it's mostly russians buying the cards?

I checked the google cryptocurrency news! it was a couple of days ago i read it I was going to do a post on it but fight get time! But I read that it was the Russians that was mainly buying everything! Wish I had the technical mind to set on up instead of using GM all the time!

You should try it. Way more satisfying than cloud mining and much more likely that you will not lose money if you consider reselling the hardware after a few months/years.
Also you are much more flexible regarding the coins you mine.
Right now I am happy mining ZENcash for example. Difficulty is very low but prices can 10x in the not so near future imo.

I think I will check it out! And try it out. How many graphics cards are you using for zen cash! What MH you getting and whats the best value? Any help much appreciated

If you have cheap electricity, I think the 1070s are the best pick in the mid run.
If your electricity is more expensive the 1060s are most energy efficient as far as I know (lower hash rate but much lower power consumption).
Right now I am running the MSI GTX 1080ti and the ZOTAC 1070 for a total of ~1120 Sol/s. With proper tuning and better cooling (they are sitting right next to each other right now in my small ATX case, will change this as soon as my PCIe riser arrive) I guess you can get maybe up to 1200 Sol/s.
Will keep you posted with benchmarks soon.

I live in the UK so its not the cheapest if you know what I mean! I will do some calculations and maybe see if its more profitable at home! Thanks for the information! Followed you dude!

Good post ...
I would like you to talk about ati radeon in another post

GTX 1070 OC should get to about 31 MH/s, at least EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW and Asus GeForce GTX 1070 Dual OC has such hashrate. Memory + 650 to +820 Mhz, Core clok +50, system 75%.

Ah you are right. My stats are from dual mode.
Are you using a bios mod for the GPUs?

GTX 1070 as I know doesn't support bios mod only overclocking. I got best result with Msi Afterburner Memory + 650 to +820 Mhz, Core clok +50, system 75%. This settings depend on card.

Interesting, thanks a lot for the info. Do you use claymore? Your 31 MH/s are based on single mode or dual mining?
What do you mean by system - is it power limit?

Yes I use Claymore. 31,2 MH/s single mining, 30,5MH/s dual mining with Sia settings -dcri 20. 75% is power limit, but it depends on card it goes from 70% to 85% for ETH.

I hear the GTX 1080 TI gets a little bit warm depending on what you are mining. Have you noticed this?

Currently I can't make a reliable statement about the temperatures because I only use two cards clumpted together in my small desktop (PCIe risers are still missing).
With adjusted fan curve the 1070 stays below 68° C and the 1080ti at around 76°. That's pretty hot, however I think it'll drop when I can get them out of the case. The TI right now can't draw cool air because its fans are alsmost directly in front of the 1070's backplate. If it wasn't for that my guess were both cards should have similar temperatures.
Before I bought the MSI GTX 1080 TI GX however I had a "ichill x3 1080 TI" which was running at above 80° with 99% fan speed all the time - I immediatelly send it back because of that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97