Why I Think Golem Is The Next Big Coin!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

So Whats The Next Big Coin?

I'm not sure if you noticed, but the crypto currency universe has blown up over the last few weeks and i've been using that time to weed out all of the shit coins, so I could really focus on the coins with potential longevity.

Today i'm going to write about my favorite alt coin out there right now (other than Steem of course), and it goes by the name of....you guessed it Golem! Aren't context clues amazing! Golem is a Ethereum asset that basically functions as a decentralized super computer, which will allow you to rent out and borrow CPU power.
Golem logo.png
Pic via https://www.coingecko.com/en/price_charts/golem/btc

How Will This Change The Game?

Let me give you an example. When 20th Century Fox made the movie Avatar, the movie cost 237 million dollars to make according to google. Most of the cost came from CGI rendering which normally takes forever. With Golem, the studio could send out the CGI to the Golem network and rent out CPU power at a fraction of the cost!

According to the studio market share supplied by www.BoxOfficeMojo.com, 20th Century Fox grossed 608.6 million dollars from January 1st - May 7th alone! Can you imagine how much the movie industry would change if the cost to make a blockbuster 300 million dollar movie was cut to a fraction of it's size! I know its scary!
mind blown meme.jpg
Pic via http://knowyourmeme.com/memes/mind-blown

Right now at the time of writing this post, Golem is worth ~.20 cent on Poloniex, with a market cap of 182 million according to ww.wcoinmarketcap.com. Sounds like a similar story compared to one of the most talked about currencies out right now, ether!
In my opinion if Ethereum continues to go up, so will Golem! Good investment, or no? What do you all think?

Sort:  

Good write up. In fact, today after Cardano (ADA) had such a huge spike (170%), I took some profits by selling about 35-40% of my ADA...then parlayed that Bitcoin from the transaction into my first initial stake in Golem which was down a bit...in theory, buying a good coin/project on a dip via taking some profits on a spiker.

Congrats on that pick up! Golem is def a long term investment so buckle in for the ride!

I believe in this coin! A lot of projects came out last year(s) but this is one of the few with added value that really stands out in my view, like when ether (and actually dao - sad it was poorly constructed) came out. I work for universities and several high level international research organizations and right now all of our applications run on amazon elastic nets, which easily hit 5k+ a month for a single project. A project being for example fitting a global statistical model. I'm very much looking forward to how technologies like GNT might change the game. I would certainly welcome a change!

I believe in this coin too! We have a long way to go, but I think this Golem will be here in the years to come, so hopefully our investment pays off!

Golem has an interesting value proposition, but as of yet there is no distributed code for users to participate. Their success still depends on being able to develop both a technical solution that integrates distributed resources plus an economic model that works.

I am hopeful that such technology will become available, but I think the recent rise in price is all around the hype.

That is a great point! I feel like a lot of whats happening in the crypto world is hype, but I really believe in the golem development team, so hopefully they figure out a solution!

nice post. thank you for it :)

Nice post! I keep thinking about how universities could use this tech. That would change the face of research.

Thanks! Looking like a good idea for a post! Write it up and I'll share it!

nice post man, and with the release of Brass golem comming soon , things are looking good !

Thanks, and yeah I am very optimistic to say the least!

I actually see potential in the Golem project. I'd like to see how far it would go.

Regardless if the coin will appreciate in value, I secretly hope this project will succeed as well.
We need a AirBnB of computing!

Me too man! I went long a few months ago and it deff worked out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42