What Coin Is The Google Of Cryptocurrency? Top 5 Picks!

Back when the Internet bubble crashed, there were a lot of companies that went down, but some like Google and Amazon survived and have gone on to chance the world. They also made some people very rich.

(Source)

Cryptocurrency right now is much like the days of the late 90's in the first Internet boom. There were hundreds of companies way over valued mainly because they were just using the new technology. Think about Reddcoin. That is a project that hasn't gone anywhere in months and they are still worth $230 million. They even took down their blog from their website. 

Stephen Strongin, a main researcher at Goldman Sachs recently made a comment that sounded like FUD but was very true. He stated that most cryptocurrencies would not be around in five or ten years. It got a lot of press, but the headline is he stated the obvious. Of course in five or ten years, out of the over 1,500 crypto that exist now won't exist then. Obviously. What he isn't saying, is that the ones that do make it will be worth billions and billions of dollars. 

The ones that survive will be like Google or Amazon after the Internet bubble popped. They could make some people very rich.

So what are the coins that will survive the crash? First of all I have no idea the crash will happen or even if it will happen. Maybe bad projects just start falling down the charts as crypto investors get smarter. As we see more and more projects complete their roadmap goals in 2018, we'll see some that just can't hang. Those will fall to zero and be an after thought in history.

But what ones will be the future? I'm not sure, lol. You read all this for that answer. Nobody really knows, but there are a few that really think could make a run at it.

1. ADA - The team and the idea behind this coin is really strong. They are building ADA for the future. Bitcoin was the future, now it's Etherum. I think one day, ADA will be next.

2. EOS - There are some fantastic minds on this project and it is another that is built for the future. With the accomplishments this team already has, it is tough to think that EOS won't have a home in the future.

3. ANT - Aragon is a company that has built a governance system for the blockchain and it is working right now. This is one project that I think could really go the distance and fill some major voids in the growing blockchain technologies.

4. STEEM - Steem is one coin that I think will blossom in the future. Not really because of Steemit, but for all incredible social reward applications that can be built on the Steem blockchain. Steem already dominates the transaction game and is lightning fast. It has a real chance to be a top player in the future.

5. The Mystery? - I am sure there are some coins that have not been made yet that will really change our future. There are ideas that will blossom over the next year or two that spark new ICOs that will change our life. 

We are at the beginning of all of this cryptocurrency stuff, and things are changing fast. Over the next five years, Stephen Stongin is right, many will go to zero, but what he is leaving out is that some will go on to change our lives. 

Do your own research, trust the future and invest wisely.

I'm not a financial advisor, I'm not rich and I'm not a psychic. These are just the coins that I like and the ones that I think will change the future. Do your own research!

What coins to agree with?

What coins should I add?

Let me know your  thoughts in the comments below.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Highly rEsteemed!

One, for the Lupin GIF, and two, because I agree wholeheartedly.
One thing I'm amazed with is how few companies in Blockchain use Steem. Just a TON of new ideas doing the wrong things righter, but no one using current tech the way they say they would use future tech. @dan comes close because at least he makes a few posts about EOS once in a while on Steem.

Screen Shot 2018-02-16 at 5.36.34 PM.png

Thank you!!! By the way I'm a huge fan of Francis Bacon. I still think he wrote Shakespeare. lol Thanks for the great reply and I agree about people using Steem more.

I wonder why you didn't mention ethereum. Even if there is (slightly) superior tech out there, Ethereum has by far the biggest resemblance of smart people in the crypto world. I think that speaks for Ethereum not getting killed by others... what do you think?

I think that Ethereum is Gen 2 of crypto, and will prosper for a while, but down the road I don't think it can handle the growth. It is having trouble at times now with slow transactions. I think Ethereum has a good future for the short-term, but in 5 years, I don't think Ethereum will be the top dog. You got a new follower.

We'll have to wait for that :) I still believe that the gap to Cardano for example, is not that big. And with the adoption of raiden, sharding, plasma etc., which are all to happen this year, they will close the gap further.
In my opinion the only crypto that really deserves the name of crypto 3.0 is IOTA. I mean, they're not even using a blockchain no more!!

Ya I'm trying to learn more about Aragon. Looks super promising!

Aragon is a very promising project. I've been following the for a while and think it really has some legs. Thanks for reading and the reply.

I heard NEO will become the biggest crypto for china. Since they have their own google, amazon etc. This could be a solid investment as they do manage to do well.

NEO is pretty freaking solid. I agree. I'm looking to make a move into NEO pretty soon.
Thanks for great feedback!

I like your list ... still I like BTC

I like BTC too. It will survive for sure.

Glad i'm invested in all four and a couple more projects that i'm looking into are ICX and GTO as it is a HUGE market in China/Korea :)

Thank you for the share and wish you a great weekend mate!

I don't know much about China specific coins, but I will look into ICX and GTO a little more. I appreciate it. thanks fo the great reply. Have a great weekend too!

Thanks for putting ANT on my map. I've seen it around but sometimes you gotta think how diverse can I really go. But this one might be worth a peg or two.

Serious answer, I agree with a fair amount of your list. Love steem hence why am on it. But it really depends on how they hold onto this niche they seem to have at the moment. If facebook has taught us one thing its that you have to diversify out of your original concept.

I'd stick ARK in there as well, serious contenders with a solid reputation for delivering on their road map, and as their core 2 rebuild shows, they are able to adapt to an evolving landscape.

And then there is Presearch :)
https://www.presearch.io/

As seen on CNBC so that gives them all the gravitas of a wet fart, but they are trying to be the blockchain of search engines. Who knows.

I agree 100% about Facebook, but I think Steem is valuable way beyond Steemit. Steemit is just the first but next is APPICS and more down the pipeline.
Presearch is directly going after Google and that concerns me. Like you mentioned with facebook diversifying I think Google will too. They might buy up coins like Presearch or Redd or others to give them a starting point, but I am willing to bet they already have team on it. ARK is a great choice, and one on my radar, that I have not pulled the trigger on. I've been on the fence, but since your checking out ANT, I'll check out ARK, lol. Thanks for the great reply.

Yeah I'd agree on that. Google have a lot of clout behind them. I don't know how you begin to make a decentalised search algorithm though. Half of google's success is its search engine's ability to learn, but that code is very much a closely protected asset of the business.

It reminds me of something in the mining industry where Leapfrog have been doing implicit modelling for decades now. A few years ago a load of the Standard Mining Packages released their own Implicit functions, but the tech is so far behind. Leapfrog can easily stay decades ahead of them and be the preferred option. Though funnily enough they are now looking to get into Resource estimation.

Anyways back on point:

To have something that doesn't belong to anyone, but can simultaneous self learn to become a better product than what Google offers. It may take a few years if not decades. Even if the code is left very much open source, it's still open to exploit and bias. But I would be interested to see what Google's move into crypto might be like. I see even Fuji film are getting in on the action and challenging cryptos like PoeT for a slice of the digital rights side of things. And Atari making a play for Tron and the like

Lines are getting blurred as the franchises weigh in :)

Yeah think I am going to sell some 10% of coins that have moved back into the green for me, and get a little ANT anyways.

Nice thing about ARK is that even if the coin only goes to lets say $10 in 5 years time. 10% APR on the coins held in wallet is a nice gain. Better than most high risk managed funds I've looked at.

If it shoots to $50 or so, in 10 years time, then I'm looking at a passive income of around $15,000 per year. Worth the risk for the $2,500 I've sunk into it.

I should add the 10% (Really ~8-10% as weekly payout will get compounded) is based on current ARK calculator, and the white paper gives around 6.31% for first year inflation, so there will be a gradual drop in payouts from delegates, but the drop rate is less extreme than LISK or Ethereum:

http://calculator.reconnico.com/

ark.JPG

My husband hadn't heard of ANT. Thanks for making me look good!

lol, I am so glad I could help. lol

I think it makes a lot of sense. We r just in the beginning and many are ahead just because they r using the latest technology. Who knows there will be some other coin in future which is way ahead of all the present ones, correcting all the issues in the present ones. Compliant to all sensible rules laid by the government.

I agree. The government is the big wild card here and could change the game at any time. Thanks for the great reply!

You got a 5.19% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @walkingkeys!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56905.43
ETH 2398.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26