Unboxing my Ledger Nano S.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

My Ledger Nano S arrived, finally! I ordered it on the 1st of June and it arrived today, the 5th of July. So it took them a little over a month. If you have ordered one later than me, I'm pretty sure you're going to have to wait a little bit longer than I did. I wrote a post about the sudden huge demand for Ledger's hardware wallets. I actually spoke with a co-founder of Ledger and found out that my order would be delayed and he gave me more inside production information:

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@valderrama/ledger-increases-production-to-deliver-over-one-million-units-this-year

I ordered the Ledger Nano S because I wanted to minimize the amount of wallets I was using and, even more important, I wanted to level up in the security game. I chose the Ledger Nano S over other hardware wallets because of the amount of different cryptos it supports and I know more are coming in the near future. I wrote about my wallet issues in this post:

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@valderrama/which-crypto-s-do-i-have-and-which-wallets-do-i-use

Let the unboxing begin!

When the package was delivered I had to sign for handoff. I received a bubble envelope. Notice the Ledger tape that was not tampered with.
IMG_4930.JPG

I opened the envelope and the only thing in it was the Ledger Nano S, boxed of course. The box was sealed with a plastic layer which was also untampered with.
IMG_7026.JPG

Here's the back of the box. For comparison an iPhone 7 sleeve from Sena is besides it. It's a pretty small box. Notice the Bitcoin and Ethereum logo are on it, the Ledger Nano S support many more cryptos though.
IMG_7650.JPG

I removed the plastic layer and opened the box. This is what we get to see first.
IMG_0324.JPG

I took the Ledger Nano S out and the foam like material it was laying in and beneath it I got a nice little 'Welcome' from the quick start package.
IMG_5348.JPG

Beneath the quick start package was the cable to connect the Ledger Nano S with your computer and some keychain accessories. I don't think I'll be using them, but it's nice to have them.
IMG_2007.JPG

Here's a photo of the Ledger Nano S on it's side with the only two buttons showing.
IMG_2069.JPG

Here it is on it's back. Notice the engraving saying "vires in numeris". It translates to "strength in numbers" and was popularized as the Bitcoin motto. Nice touch!
IMG_5077.JPG

Here's a photo of the screen.
IMG_0947.JPG

The first card in the quickstart package.
IMG_3383.JPG

The front of the second card in the quickstart package.
IMG_4736.JPG

The back of the second card in the quickstart package which basically holds the only installation instruction. I must go to start.ledgerwallet.com and follow instructions to set it up.
IMG_6289.JPG

The front of the last card in the quickstart package.
IMG_0230.JPG

The back of the last card in quickstart package. You can use this card to write down the recovery phrase. I will probably not use it though because I will store the recovery phrase in 1Password.
IMG_0997.JPG

I will come back later and post about the installation of the Ledger Nano S when I find time for it. Hopefully sooner rather than later. I hope you'll enjoy these photos in the meantime.

Feel free to upvote, comment and resteem. And, as always... keep up the good work!

Sort:  

How much did you pay? They cost 80 dollar here on amazon: https://amzn.to/2DIKzsm

How many cryptos can you store on it

Ledger Nano S and Ledger Blue natively support:

Bitcoin
Ethereum
Ethereum Classic
Dogecoin
Litecoin
Zcash
Dash
Ripple
Stratis
Komodo

Some others are coming as well.

That's great thank you think I might get one cheers mike

Awesome. Safety first in the cryptospace!

Congratulations. I am still waiting for my Nano-S to ship.

Hopefully it will arrive soon! Mine came about 10 days earlier than expected.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58176.03
ETH 2475.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40