You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It looks like I'm right about the pullback I predicted

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

But your not trading an index though, only individual coins ? If so then it doesn't matter what the overall cap is doing, only the coin you're interested in, whether it follows the cap or not.

I admit it's handy to know the cap, and the general direction, in much the same way I keep a general eye on world affairs and how it affects currency prices. But I don't make trading decisions based on it, that's up to the currency or stock to tell me.

I've been watching BTC for the last two days and I think I called it 7/8 times lol. One of these days I'm going to write articles explaining how to read charts... :-)

Sort:  

That would be true if I was only in a few coins. But I'm still in about 70 which means that my portfolio value generally swings up and down with market cap. It strongly represents how much I win or lose in a day.

I don't trade much these days; I have my positions and I just fine tune them with the odd trade to buy a bargain. I can't be averaging more than one trade per day at the moment. That means that about 98% of my portfolio value is still moving iaw market cap.

And since my general strategy is to grab the good coins and hold, I really don't care about short-term individual price movements, I just watch the market cap long-term trends.

Watching 70 individual figures would be pointless, I would have to combine them anyway. Might as well just use market cap.

Ah, I see, that makes more sense.

What do you think of the Buffet idea that diversification is a bad idea ? that all the good positions and bad positions average out so you never make a profit ? I'm sure you'd disagree... lol

I can see his point though, and the guy has more money than me so who am I to argue :-) lol

Standby for a quick post...

lol, I keep giving you ideas for posts, you really should pay me :-)

I do. In $0.00 upvotes!

worth every penny ! :-) lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64116.01
ETH 2758.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65