Use honeyminer as an easy way to mine crypto

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

If you have been thinking about mining crypto, you might want to check out honeyminer (that's a referral link) as an easy way to get started. honeyminer is an easy to install Windows application that mines a cryptocurrency that is best for your machine's hardware. No matter what currency you mine, honeyminer pays you in Satoshi's, which are one hundred millionth of a bitcoin (0.00000001 BTC),
currently 0.00006339 USD. The payment is based on the amount of work your machine does, so you are essentially automatically operating as part of a mining pool and sharing the profits.

After checking out its legitimacy, I installed it on a cheap Dell laptop. That laptop nets about 3 cents (USD) per day. I also installed it on a Windows Virtual machine on my 5 year old Macbook Pro, which gains another 3 cents or so worth of bitcoin a day. It's not much, but if you have a machine with a GPU you can do better. Just be sure to take your power consumption into account.

Account creation was easy, but a bit different: I downloaded the app, installed it, and started it up. On starting the app, it asked for an email address, then told me that I would receive an email with a password, after which it deposited 1000 Satoshis into my account and started mining. The email they sent had my password in clear text, so I immediately logged in to the honeyminer site and enabled two factor authentication using Google Authenticator. There are other settings you can change, such as whether to stop mining if you put honeyminer in the background, whether to start it up when you log in, etc.

In the image above you can see where I currently stand after a few days of mining part time on two laptops. For my lowly machines it chose to mine Monero, which is a CPU friendly crypto. However, as noted above, all payouts are in bitcoin.

honeyminer payouts fall into three types:

  • Mining credits: this is for the actual mining done by your machine. These are paid out around 15 minutes or so apart for me, depending on whether my machine is mining and how many other apps are running.
  • Bonuses: these are given after certain periods of time to encourage you to keep mining. As you can see above, I just got a 52 Satoshi bonus. It takes more and more time to get a bonus, but the bonuses are also bigger each time.
  • Referral credits for signing up other miners. These are taken from honeyminer's share, not the person you refer.

There are two primary concerns with any crypto mining software: (1) is it malware or a scam?; and (2) what will it do to your machine's performance?

I encourage you do do your own research on both of these items; however, in my short experience it appears to be legitimate and to be a nice player when it comes to machine resources. Neither of my laptops are running hard while mining and while I'm doing lots of other activity. In fact, on my Macbook Pro I get much more overheating from Chrome Helpers running on webpages. All of the applications that I use don't appear to suffer from running honeyminer.

Since honeyminer is taking a cut, you might do better installing traditional mining software and joining a mining group, but that takes a lot more work (I've tried it). For those of us who want a simple way to get started, honeyminer seems like a good choice.

If you decide to check it out and install it, and you don't mind using referral links, I'd appreciate it if you used mine: honeyminer

I understand, though, that not everyone likes referrals here, so feel free to just skip it and go on your own. And remember, before you install, do your research.

In either case, at least at the time of this writing, you will get 1000 Satoshi for signing up.

Todd

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Thanks for the info on Honeyminer! I don't think I am quite ready to get into this yet, but it is nice to know such options exist! Thanks for sharing with #steemitbloggers 😊

You might just give it a try. It is really easy to start using, as long as you have a Windows PC. I've tried setting other software and found it much much harder.

Oh cool! Will try it out when I get home later. Thanks for this. Will use ur ref

Be sure to let us know how it goes. I have yet to try to withdraw funds from honeyminer, because I don't have enough space to load the bitcoin blocks, so I cannot even open my old bitcoin wallet.

So far liking it. But mining is a little slow. :D

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by toddrjohnson from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice one, did you find this anywhere particular @toddrjohnson?

I was searching the internet for easy to use mining software and just came across a few reviews for honeyminer. I don't recall exactly where I first read about. After the fact I searched Steem and found a few articles from a while back.

Nice thanks for this! It makes sense - knowing what to search for is super handy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94