The beginning of me and my brother's journey in Crypto

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

https://www.instagram.com/p/BZflGIxgBok/?hl=en&taken-by=sokomining

It was the same as any other evening in Indianapolis, except for the fact that my brother was visiting me from NJ with his girlfriend, Christine. We decided to surprise my girlfriend Emily and grab dinner at her work. I imagined we would spend the night introducing Christine to Emily and catching up. It had been about two months since I had left NJ for The New Orleans Saints training camp. They signed me two days prior to training camp so everything happened pretty fast, the usual NFL.

But the night had a twist. My brother began telling me about cryptocurrency. More specifically crypto mining and the projected profitability from mining with our own mining rig. We discussed how electricity costs are even cheaper in Indiana than most states. Especially cheaper than NJ. Before we knew we realized we had spent about two hours at Oakley's Bistro (a great local fine dining if your ever looking in the Indianapolis area) talking about nothing but cryptocurrency mining. We are lucky that Christine was patient and Emily was busy attending to other tables as well. (Emily's patience would be tested as well in the future thanks to crypto)

To make a long story short, or am I even doing that. The next day we came to a deal with a local supplier of RX 580 graphics cards. We bought 13. We also bought 13 risers. All for $4180.00 This price we have never disclosed, not even on our Soko mining instagram. But it just feels right to post it on my first steemit post. We felt like we got a steal. 4 weeks later, and it has been nothing short of a journey. From driving the equipment to NJ then back to Indiana, to 2 day shipping it to NJ only to drive it back to Indiana again, the crypto path has been nothing short of a combination of exciting, stressful and rewarding. Though you may venture to think we were moving around so much from technical difficulties, that was not the case. We had a buyer, who canceled on us. (That story is easily another post, let's just say we learned a good lesson on why security deposits are crucial)

Nonetheless, the picture above is me and my brother the night after our conversation at Oakley's, and the day that we bought the graphics cards. Everything had happened so fast. We had made a substantial investment in such a short period of time. It only felt right to get a good picture to really capture it all, or at least try to.

21910911_529382734072335_7809185880630886400_n.jpg

Sincerely,
@soko1

Sort:  

welcome soko1,,,, and good luck

welcome

Looks sympathic :) Keep on. Cryptospace is hectic :) Always diversify

Nice one!

Contribute to me, I will back your contribution

Regards
@tamimiqbal

Thanks! What do you mean by back it?

Awesome! I looked at your profile and noticed that you have made a fresh account so I am very glad to see that you're actively posting. I just upvoted you for this as you deserved it and rock on!
As you only recently joined the steemit community it can be hard to recieve lots of steem power so maybe you want to try @MinnowPowerUp where you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just directly powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have more info on my experience with the system in this post where I explain how I earn over $1 a day from upvotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.00
ETH 2325.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36