Building my First Mining Rig - Learning by Doing

So I am building my first mining rig...way behind the curve right? Like by a few years or more...

It's ok. I'm not mining to substitute my income. I like to buy things, put things together, learn/see how they work and share that with others.

I stumbled upon a nice tutorial on http://1stminingrig.com (I will link the tutorial at the end). I read it over a few times and just became fixated on the hardware aspect of it...how cool. Who doesn't want an open air computing contraption to sit on their coffee table and be the center piece of every conversation that takes place in the room?

In my house my wife and share a combined bank account. What that means is that her money is her money and my money is her money...it's great, you should try it. Anyways, I make a little money on the side that I stash away for these extracurricular hobbies that entrance me periodically. I had enough set aside to get me to looking like I almost have a mining rig. As of this moment I have everything but an operating system and a GPU (eventually will have 6). Lol, key components, I know.

But it has been a blast so far. Putting together the frame has been the most time consuming aspect so far. The frame I went with is by Cryptocase and was great to work with. Easy to follow instructions, nicely packaged hardware...EXTRA hardware! I think each hardware bag had one or 2 extra pieces which is a lot nicer than being one or two pieces short.

How about some pics of the current work in progress:

![IMG_20171125_161756.jpg]
()

IMG_20171125_162211.jpg

IMG_20171126_214840.jpg

IMG_20171128_215956.jpg

IMG_20171206_154251.jpg

To reinforce that this was probably the worst time in history for me to get the itch to build mining rig...I think ethereum and a few other coins started to hit their all-time highs as I was looking to purchase these components. I could sit there and watch my amazon cart price fluctuate like watching the BTC price chart...good times.

Now I am just in "work extra odd jobs and save" mode so that I can get these GPU's. I hope to be able to get this thing running before mining is outsourced to Mars. I'll be sure to update as I am making progress!

Tutorial I am following: http://1stminingrig.com/nvidia-gigabyte-geforce-gtx-1070-g1-gaming-mining-rig-tutorial/

Sort:  

I am just getting into mining as well. I have been researching a lot and I will probably end up building a vega rig for monero....or wating for new asiscs with 7nm for bitcoin.

I am not sure really which...but I think monero will see a way higher price eventually.

Would love to hear about whatever decision you go with! Are you vested in any specific crypto's at the moment?

Cardano monero and btc.

Would run that vega rig with a linux distro?

I run life with a linux distro brother. But....I know shite about the mining scene and for gpu mining linux prolly aint the win yeah? I would think the linux drivers would not be up to par with windows. Your thoughts?

I am not to certain myself. I thought ethOS was built in Linux but might be wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60748.61
ETH 2912.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36