QT Wallets and extracting the ONE Private Key: How to do it?

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago (edited)

In my early Steemit days, I obtained a few small bits of crypto from @vanessav’s airdrop giveaways. The coins never amounted to much but it was fun getting a few of this and a few of that.

private.JPG

Source

Almost a year later I’m trying to consolidate all these small bits of crypto and extract the private keys. Many of them use the basic QT wallet which sits on my laptop computer.

For almost a year I have had these wallets just sitting on my laptop but now I want to get at those keys.

image.png

I figured that you can get the private keys by using the Help/Debug Window/Console command and then using the dumpprivkey command in the format:


dumpprivkey receivingaddress

image.png

In the example below (SmartCash QT Wallet) I have TWO listed receiving addresses.

image.png

I can gain the private key for both but which is the MASTER private key for my current funds of 1601.57508959 SMART? I get TWO different private keys if I use these individually,

Can I use either at a later date to recover my funds?

There is another option to use the command:


dumpwallet “c:\keys.txt”

If I do this I get a whole load of ‘private’ keys in this text file. Nothing is ever simple is it?

What want to do is essentially gain the private key for my Smartcash, print it out and be able to use it sometime in the future with the importprivkey command on a different computer.

image.png

To the first person who can explain to me just WHICH is my private key for ALL my funds of 1601 SMART, or explain to me how all this works I will award a FULL comment vote.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

It's funny that you should post this. I was just looking at a bunch of my airdrops the other day. I was trying to figure out what I should do with them. Most of them are so insignificant it doesn't really matter I guess. Remember ByteBall? I hope someone is able to help you get this sorted out.

I sold ymy Byyeball ages ago, well sent it to Bittrex and traded it for Bitcoin.

These QT wallets I have for several crypto's such as RavenCoin etc.. and they are all the same. Nobody had tet answered the question and Im sure its not all that hard.

I wish I would have. I think it is worth all of about $2 now.

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 6.1% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.437 which ranks you at #2209 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2207).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 377 contributions, your post is ranked at #76.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63