I want to be a miner - Part Two

The building of the rig

This is part Two you can get Part One here

So last night I managed to build the new mining rig.  Its been a while since I actually built a PC from scratch, must be 10 years since my gaming days.  However nothing has really changed the basics are all still there. 


The biggest problem I faced was figuring out which screws was for fixing the mainboard to the case. The board is a ATX and therefore needed 9 screws to the case. The pack of screws that came with the case came in batches of 4, 6 and maybe 30. So I assumed that the screws that I had 30 of were the ones to use.  This turned out to be incorrect and infact the screws I had 6 of ( the screws with a hexaganol head were the correct screws and I had to simply steal some screws from an old PC to make up the numbers!

So now I have a board that has 7 screws correctly installed and two that are kind of stuck, ughh.

I fitted the board, PSU, CPU, GPU, HDD, and memory, I didn't connect most of the extras, USB, Audio etc. I just needed a running box, the less systems the better.


I booted her up and she booted first time! Which was a relief as I had bought that GPU from a guy on Gumtree and never actually knew if it worked or not.


I will be posting about the OS install in a following post. I had a drama.


Some photos of the build below.





Sort:  

Congratulations @shutupsquare! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @shutupsquare! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55350.11
ETH 2887.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27