A Cryptocurrency Guide Simplified "Crypto Outpost"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

By reading this, you're taking your first steps into the crypto currency ecosystem - Welcome! For those who are already in the system, welcome back!

Link: www.cryptooutpost.com

History:

I was lurking in a forum summer of 2010 when I first stumbled upon Bitcoin. It was rather inconspicuous around that time as it was notorious for being used in the black market. I still recall message boards talking about its usage and how it was linked to nefarious purchases such as illegal narcotics, weapons, and other things found on the black market. That being said, I was scared to touch it, despite the ease of mining during this time. At one point, I saw a few websites advertising free coins if he or she joined.

Fast-forward to now, Bitcoin has gained notoriety as big money maker. It's an investment that has been more than a ten bagger for the pioneers. Do I regret not dabbling into this when I was still a high school? Yes, of course. I still recall the value of these coins sitting around $0.10 and this was sometime around August of 2010. I vividly recall talking to a few folks on chat about the value as I sat in my community college's library.

During my trip across South East Asia in 2017, I decided to go to the Philippines to visit family. As I sat at my cousin's bar, my other cousin and I talked about cryptocurrency. He talked about Bitcoin, which immediately piqued my interest as to how it's utilized now. It's no longer talks about the Silk Road or TOR based nefarious sites, but actual investments. Months later, I decided to start crypto, which is very different to my stock trading background.

Reason:

When I first started getting into cryptocurrency, it was confusing. I had no idea how to turn fiat into Bitcoin. I did not even know you had different options as the only altcoin then (2014) was Dogecoin. Now, we have Ethereum, Litecoin, and many more. A friend of mine, who I met when I spent a week in Tokyo is an active trader. He helped me start my account via Coinbase and Binance. As I started investing me, I fell deep into the rabbit hole. My friends then started messaging me about how to get started, and that's when I figured I need to make a website that's easy for everyone to use.

Steem1.PNG

The Crypto Outpost is essentially a summary of everything you need to know about cryptocurrency investing. It has videos explaining what Bitcoins are, the types of coins out there, jargon used, what blockchain is, and many more. These are the questions I've been asked throughout my time in the ecosystem. I also go over the exchanges that I personally use and alternatives one might want to use.

Found on the website are links to videos that I personally found informational and tools that will make investing easier. I've vetted the exchanges myself and personally use them too, but always be cautious with what you do. The moment you sign up for exchanges, you're taking a risk.

I promise my website will not be as long as my introduction.

Steem2.PNG

Coming from a stock background, we used a lot of jargon that was carried over to cryptocurrency. Whenever I talked to my friends on chat, they sometimes would not understand my abbreviations or terminology, and at times, I would not understand theirs. There are discrepancies between the stock trading ecosystem and the crypto world. I've compiled commonly used terms so the newer generations will have a better understanding as to what we are referring to.

Steem3.PNG

Security is the most important factor whenever it comes to investing. I go over some strategies that I personally use and provide usable methods, such as ledgers, 2FA, and many more. There was an ongoing joke a while back that we're going to invest money on $2FA and the newer folks started to panic and as to where one can buy $2FA. The website goes over these things for you.

Steem4.PNG

Lastly, I go over a detailed way of buying Bitcoin. I do a step-by-step instruction on how to by and transfer your cryptocurrencies onto a different wallet. This will be an important segment for those who want to get started. I essentially include all the links you need, as well as screenshots on how to transfer. The website also shows the way to reduce transfer fees.

Conclusion:

Thank you for reading! I hope this guide will help you understand this ecosystem. This website is free to use and you do not need an account to view any of the information provided. I wish you the best with your investments!

If you have any recommendations, feel free to let me know. Be aware that my website has limitations and I will not give any advice as to what to invest on.

Sort:  

hey so nice I really like your post! Thanks for it! I actually wrote my 2nd part of my introduceyouself and I write about that I went to jail because of cryptos... lets make steemit together to a better place with our content! I would like to read a bit more about you and maybe do you have some more pictures? Maybe you upvote me and follow me swell as I do? https://steemit.com/counterfeit/@mykarma/2-jail-review-counterfeit-euro-speeeeending-time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63571.79
ETH 3068.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97