My latest Cryptocurrency Investment - Civic (CVC)

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Cryptocurrency.jpg

I am a total noob when it comes to cryptocurrency and it was only 6 months ago that I started to dabble in some crypto investment. Initially I spent a whole lot of time researching and looking into the types of cryptocurrencies that were out there and the best place to invest my hard earnt cash.

A friend lit the spark by sending me a few thousand DogeCoin which I still have. Initially I thought I had scored and thought what an awesome buddy to give me so many coins. Then the 'penny dropped' and I realised that Dogecoin was not the expensive crypto I thought it might be!

Emote_dogecoin.png

After some further research I stumbled across a crypto called STEEM. I created an account and started to dabble in this crypto where I could earn crypto by blogging and telling my stories. I started, as everyone does, smashing out some long posts and dedicating a lot of time to my posts, only to receive a few pennies/cents for my posts. It was then that I came across the initial call to arms for #TeamAustralia and became a foundation member of this awesome community.

It was after that I started to gain larger results from my posts. Gradually, over the next few months, my post rewards started to climb slowly and the remuneration for my efforts started to grow. I decided to dive into the #TeamAustralia community and started a bot, @MrSquiggle, with some guidance of the wiser members of the team.

teamaustralia fastest growing community.png

It was then that my confidence grew around crypto investment as I formed some friendships within the community who I could go to for advice.


Civic (CVC)

This is my first post dedicated to cryptocurrency and I wanted to share with you my latest investment in a token called Civic (CVC).

1sifB4mh.jpg

Civic (CVC) is an Ethereum-based token that was released through an ICO (Initial Coin Offering) on June 21. There is a maximum of 1,000,000,000 CVC tokens available and the current circulating supply is 340,200,000 tokens. According to the Civic White Paper:

Civic intends to introduce a Civic token, or CVC, which will be used as a form of settlement between participants to an identity-related transaction within the Ecosystem. The CVC paid in a transaction is distributed to the Validator and the User as a reward for sharing information. The proportion in which they share the CVC is defined by the smart contract and can be adjusted by consensus of the Ecosystem participants.
CVC will also provide a means to incentivize all participants, including Users, to contribute to the Ecosystem. Moreover, Civic anticipates that the Ecosystem will develop such that Civic and third-party providers of identity-related products and services will offer those products and services to Ecosystem participants in exchange for CVC. Source

Essentially, Civic is building an ecosystem that is designed to facilitate on-demand, secure and low-cost access to identity verification (IDV) services via the blockchain, such that background and personal information verification checks will no longer need to be undertaken from the ground up every time.

A sample use case: A company hosts a product giveaway that is only eligible to US citizens. The company partners with Civic and provides a QR code (or something in that nature) that checks whether participants in the giveaway are US citizens. Participants who have a Civic account can quickly verify the information using his/her Civic account without having to provide documents to the company proofing that he/she is an US citizen. Source

The tokens (CVC) will be used to transact in identity-related services. The CVC paid in a transaction is distributed to the validator and the user as a reward for sharing information which can be seen in the flowchart below:

CVC-flowchart.jpg
Source

As identity-related services increase and their need also increases, the demand, and therefore value, of CVC tokens should increase.


This is one of my current investments and a project that I hope experiences some success and I receive a return on my investment. I expect this to be a long term investment that won't see any major returns in the short-term.

Thanks for Reading.


Disclaimer:

Please note that everything within this Post only reflects my personal opinion. It is not intended as investment advice and any investment should only be undertaken with the proper due diligence.




scooter77 footer ta - bearone.png

Upgoat footer.png
Thanks to @ryivhnn and @bearone for the footers :)

Sort:  

Today I invested into STEEM, Ark and Bitshares. All fantastic projects. I already had a little bit of Civic just because.

I first learned about Civic through a radio program I listened to often. It was before they launched the coin, so I actually got to sign up for their identity fraud protection coverage when it was free. I hope I'll never need it, but I'm glad I have their protection.

When I learned about the coin, I also bought some because I think it's a unique and applicable use for a token. Glad to see others are finding it worthwhile, too.

Thanks for sharing!

@originalworks

Thanks for reading and commenting. Definitely something worth considering. It has a good platform already so i think the token can only add value.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @scooter77 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

I’m involved with cryptocurrencies and bitcoins etc so this post was really helpful and I loved it thanks xx

nice narration thanks 👏

Good stuff @scooter77 - Civic really is innovation in technology. Especially in countries like India where ID theft and fraud is the highest on the planet, this platform without a doubt will change the industry of e-commerce. Also good write up, hard to come across good posts on Steemit these days.

CIVIC is 0.34 now, what's your target selling price?

This post has received a 0.26 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

A great token indeed, thanks for clarifying the doubt around the coin. However people if you do not know where to trade it, you can get Civic in Bittrex

Yeah I've been collecting some as well as it seems like a project that might explode in 2018. It's one of my high risk high reward coins.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Scooter77 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Looks very interesting, I'd only heard little bits about CVC, thanks for providing loads of detail about it without me having to do the research :P

This sounds quite similar to the AMLBitCoin that is going through its ICO at the moment, although this looks much easier to use in that there's no biometric identification involved

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62