Don't follow me, I'm lost...

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Acknowledgements:

Thanks to @cryptovestor for mentioning steem. That's what led me here. For anyone interested in cryptocurrency @cryptovestor published a great article on seekingalpha, https://seekingalpha.com/article/4107328-bitcoin-bubble-will-pop (on seeking alpha he uses the monicker Truth Investor). That article is also available on his youtube channel,

@cryptovestor is one of the few youtubers I subscribe to. I value his candor, skepticism, and dare I say wisdom. He doesn't give advice or try to sell you anything, just a high quality source of information and opinions on the cryptocurrency wild west.

Thanks @tomshwom for a post suitable to my script-kiddy level on how to get crypto tickers into my excel trading worksheet. https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@tomshwom/excel-portfolio-how-to-get-live-prices-and-stats

Thanks @trafalgar for an informative intro to what steemit is all about. https://steemit.com/steemit/@trafalgar/top-8-reasons-why-steem-will-succeed-dark-humor-warning

And now for the main event: my first ever blog post on the internet, ta-DA!

I'm just getting started investing in cryptocurrencies. I opened a Coinbase account (sorry @cryptovestor but I failed to think of you and skipped over the part where we both could have got $10 of bitcoin for a referral) about a month ago, set up the funds transfer from my bank (PAINFULLY slow compared to any other financial institution I deal with) and bought 0.01 bitcoin, 1 litecoin, and 0.2 ether (about $80 each). I'm one of those who learns best by doing and I'm starting small.

It went well enough that I decided to open 4 more Coinbase accounts, each one informally allocated to a different kid, but all legally and taxably mine.

This is where my nascent plan went awry. A Coinbase CSR told me only one account per person, and escalation to a supervisor didn't get me any further.

So now I'm off to look into accounts at GDAX and interested in any tips about how good or bad they are to work with.

I'm also off to look into bitcoinira where I plan to put a small allocation of my portfolio into cryptos. My IRA is currently 30% cash, 35% mutual funds, 35% individual equities (one of which is 3 shares of GBTC). My first task is to try to get a straight answer on the costs of opening an account because I'm a cheapskate and don't like to pay anyone to simply hold on to my money.

So I'm a noob to Steem, a noob to cryptos, a noob to blogging, not a noob at trading stocks (a hobby that I keep working on improving).

Regards,
Rick
qube cube.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @ricknarveson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61