LBRY Early Access App - Visual Review

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Snip20170618_21.png

Steeming around the 'verse, I came across @jamtaylor 's post LBRY Early Access + 10 Free Tokens! Now I don't know how I can get him an early invite, but I do know that I signed up for one a long time ago and just recently received mine to come and check it all out!

I won't be detailing the LBRY project in much depth in this post; instead, I want to review what the current build is like for readers like @jamtaylor - he is seriously one of my favorite Steemians on the platform and has contributed to this community for so long now that I wouldn't know the appropriate place to begin detailing his Steemit accomplishments.

So this is for him, and everyone else who's curious about a sneak peek into the LBRY app.

Landing Page

When you launch LBRY (after installation), you will be greeted with the logo-bearing load screen as it catches up with the blockchain.

Once this process is complete, the app directs you to the landing page, where you are presented with the "home" screen as it currently exists.

Snip20170618_24.png

As you can see in the screen above, there isn't much in the way of variety at the moment as the platform is still nascent. But if you look at the top right, you can see an icon with the number 9.9 next to it - WOOT LBRY BALANCE!

Lbry Balance

Snip20170618_26.png

I'm now streaming-poor!

With this balance, I can purchase content from the platform which is then downloaded to me and available for view nearly immediately. I can also earn extra tokens for completing certain actions on the app.

If you click on your available balance, you are redirected to a new screen that provides you with an Overview of your activity, the ability to send/receive, and a rewards tab that shows you how you can earn more free sweet LBRY tokens.

Snip20170618_28.png

Snip20170618_37.png

Snip20170618_38.png

Snip20170618_39.png

You can see I've completed two challenges so far by just signing on and also streaming a title.

Streaming A Title

Snip20170618_35.png

When you select a title you are brought to the video landing page where, among other things, the availability of the title is checked. I believe there needs to be at least one computer on that houses the file for it to be downloadable, but I am not certain of this fact.

There were titles that read as unavailable to me, so I assume this was the reason but would love to hear from anyone else who may know more.

If the availability checks out, you're given a link and are ready to get your content.

Snip20170618_36.png

Publishing

Snip20170618_30.png

Internet Fame! Click Here!

Here is where the content creators can go to start the process of uploading their own work to the platform and setting prices and other parameters!

This is the section that those vloggers or musicians will use infinitely more than just a streaming customer who's looking to simply consume content.

Snip20170618_31.png

It's a very simple interface, and it seems that everything you'll want to do regarding uploading will happen on this screen. Incidentally, you are rewarded for claiming your channel identity -- SPOILER ALERT: @ prufarchy is already taken: sorry inturnet frennz :(

Snip20170618_32.png

Download/Published Archive

Snip20170618_33.png

Above, you can see the titles I have downloaded in experimenting with the app. Only the top video cost any Lbry, the rest were free.

It was not difficult to determine free from paid, though it was hard to wrap my head around having a wallet that gets depleted because I consumed content.

Feeling ... Okay

Maybe I'm spoiled by what Steemit has created, but I feel that Steemit is the right direction in the burgeoning attention economy. I never feel like I'm limited by funds on Steemit, but here I did somewhat feel limited as some videos were out of my wallet range.

I'm not complaining, but as a digital advertising professional I know how much my eyeballs and attention are worth and I know what the major advertisers are paying for them, even for one second at 50% visibility. I will need to further research the value proposition to see if it mitigates this potential flaw in the attention model.

But even feeling awkward about the wallet and paying for content, I feel like this is a nifty app that was very easy to navigate and even easier to digest, as a potential publisher. I can't wait to see how this app develops into the future, and I will continue to hold Lbry and report here any new developments.

There ya go, @jamtaylor

How cool is it that Jam can express something to Steemit and, soon after, it materializes? He wanted to see the app, now he has... and that request was met in less than a day. Are you starting to see the power of Steemit?

I was going to post about something else entirely, but after reading his request and knowing I had received early access, I instinctively dropped my other post and wrote this up. If jam wants to see it, I'm sure there are others too, and I felt that would give more value to everyone.

Make sure you're paying attention to your feed, you never know when you'll be able to share something that will give that "Wow, Thanks Steemit!" moment to an inturnet fren somewhere else in the world ;)



@prufarchy

giphy-13.gif

Get your free GIFS courtesy of @hilarski

Lbry Addy:
bbHKFwAzYALYGxc5ps5HFRFnBpRXtkwuCk

Sort:  

What a great insight into the LBRY cryptocurrency. Had heard the name but had no idea what it was actually for. Seems like a solid concept. Have fun out there and good luck with future posts!

Very excited about LBRY, it will be interesting to see how LBRY's payment model works out, only time will tell but they have an impressive dev team and product. I'm honestly shocked to see all of these ICO's with barely a roadmap if they're lucky, pick up 150 million overnight and a crypto project with like LBRY fly so low under the radarr.

I feel the same way about Maidsafe ... such a great project but very under the radar, comparatively speaking.

LBRY's payment model is going to ultimately determine user behavior, so I'm sure they'll remain agile if they find that the model is an obstacle to adoption and expanded customer base.

Maybe they could take a tip or two from Steemit ;)

I like it
Great info

Informative post.

Thanks, glad you enjoyed the sneak peek of the app :)

@prufarchy I'm extremely interested in the development of LBRY so keep bringing us this insider look!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13