Basic Attention Token Mercury Release coming soon - Brave browser will gain integrated BAT wallet - Price rising in anticipation?

If you're wondering why Basic Attention Token is pumping, it's likely due to the upcoming release of Mercury, the next version of the Brave Browser.

BAT & The Brave Browser
The Brave browser is a new, ultrafast browser being developed by Brendan Eich, creator of Mozilla Firefox, Javascript and more. The BAT & Brave browser seek to create a new model for the ad industry. Instead of expensive middlemen, ad agencies pay for advertising directly on the blockchain, and part of the revenue goes to you, the user who watches the ads on your browser by way of BAT tokens. This can then be sold back to advertisers on the public market place, or spent on paid content.

Mercury
Mercury will add wallet integration to the browser, so that users can store their BAT tokens on their browser. While the wallet will be added, I did not find any indication that users will be able to earn BAT by surfing the web and watching ads yet. This functionality will be slowly implemented from the next phase, Gemini, I believe. I think Mercury mainly adds the possibility to pay publishers as a user for content with BAT. I would love to be corrected on this!

The official features of Mercury announced are:

  • BAT wallet integrated into Brave
  • Convert Brave Payments from bitcoin to BAT
  • Extend Brave’s secret-key sync to include the Brave ledger and wallet
  • Compile demand-side dashboard data into BAT ad and offer catalog that is downloaded and updated on-device; scraped and mock ads/offers with micro-BAT subsidized revenue
  • Develop the on-device machine learning models that privately match catalogued ads and place them in user-private slots based on user intent signals, from search queries (you own your query log, Google does not) to surfing, to researching, to purchasing
  • Design research and engineering development of user-private ad slot form factors
  • Measure ad engagement and user satisfaction via Basic Attention Metric (BAM) system
  • Extend the Brave Ledger ANONIZE ZKP-based proof protocol (Zero Knowledge Proof) to convey ad attributions and confirmations as well as transactions

As the release is rumoured to be before the 22th of september, unless there are delays, it is likely that currently the price is rising in anticipation.

Will it reach new heights? Maybe, but up until now BAT usually bounces off the 6800-7000 satoshi level. Wallet integration is nice, but without being able to earn BAT with it, I am doubtful of the price remaining at those levels. Then again, BAT is a relatively new project, so there is not much history to go by.

You can read the roadmap for Basic attention token here

Sort:  

BAT is definitely one of the best crypto out there. Once it starts giving out development updates, its price will go really up.

I believe in BAT and I have invested a lot of money in it.

This comment has received a 15.00 % upvote from thanks to: @sadekj.
For more information, click here!

BAT just needs to gain traction. I would say it has the most legitimate team backing it up. It should be a success.

I totally agree on the team. I checked the PlayStore. Brave has over 0.5 million downloads already while Firefox and Opera mini has 100 million. For a new project these are good numbers. Being able to earn while using the browser should create some traction. The only drag is Android is pre-loaded with Chrome.

But we'll erase that dominance slow and steady. Internet Explorer didn't disappear instantly. BTC isn't disappearing because there are better coins like Dash. It'll take some time.

I agree, just needs some time! Holding a small amount of BAT myself :)

Been using the Brave browser since I discovered this project.

Great leadership, Looking forward to great things to come.

Thanks for highlighting such a worthy subject.
-Glitch

I have tried the browser. I like it in general, but I still feel it is slower than Chrome. Now, I use it as a second browser.

Honestly I use it in any instance where i would use an incogneto window.

Thank you I am following you, I hope you will also follow up vote me this honor to me

This post has received a 2.24 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @pandorasbox.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

great content!

I have a very very little. Have not been paying attention, so I missed getting more before this pump. Wait until after the 22nd or if is calms down to the .17-.19 mark.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59585.77
ETH 3002.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78