All the next-generation Ethereums got pumped big time: ADA, EOS and IOTA - Which smart contracts platform is next?

Something interesting seems to have happened. First Cardano gets pumped and triples in value. Then EOS goes way beyond anyone's expectations, flipping several times. Now IOTA has gotten a massive pump and has gained it's value several times over as well. All of these platforms are next-generation smart contract platforms. Coincidence?

It's interesting in particular because some of these crypto's have been more or less ignored for months now, but are pumping insanely right now. More interestingly, they seem to take turns: one pumps first, then another, then another.

Could it be that another smart contract platform is next? When looking at the list on coinmarketcap I can see several that look to be undervalued in today's markets and could be potential targets for a next pump.

  • NEO is already large, but considering the pumps that just happened I can see NEO doubling as well
  • Stratis has big things coming up and despite already doubling since the dip, a 600K market cap isn't that big when Cardano is $3.5 billion and IOTA a whopping $8 billion
  • Ark, loved by many, looks rather undervalued at $400K market cap
  • Komodo platform is making great strides in development and offers privacy features, only at $300K market cap

Lisk is another smart contracts platform, but it recently has seen significant growth already and it doesn't offer very many 'next generation' features, so I left it out of this list.

Out of the above, I'm getting the feeling that all four of them may not be bad bets. It will be interesting to see if one of these picks will go through a big pump next once IOTA is done.

Please consider Upvoting, Resteeming or Following if you liked this content! I write frequently about crypto-related things, so consider following me if you are interested in that sort of thing! Thank you!

⚙️Level 3 Steempunk Adventurer ⚙️
Come battle me through @STEEMPUNKNET!

Sort:  

I've been holding onto my ARK since April. It has done well for me in terms of USD. If you check the BTC chart, it has been downtrending, but it looks like it might be ready to turn around. I think 2018 will be a big year for Ark. I will be HODLing. I also loaded up on NXT a few weeks ago. I had a good feeling it would climb since the airdrop for IGNIS will be coming up late December. NXT has been doing great.

Thanks for replying!
I think Ark definitely has some excitement going on and al ot of believers/hodlers. And at 300K market cap it seems like it has plenty of room to grow, so good pick!
NXT and IGNIS I'm not familiar with I'm afraid, so I can't comment on those! Generally all altcoins seem to be recovering right now.. Even the worst of the worst coins are going up, so bright times ahead no matter what you're holding :)

Great post and very interesting news! Are these alternatives pumping because they are coming to the forefront or because Cryptokitties is taking down the Ethereum blockchain?

I have no idea myself, but very interesting times and great to see these coins gaining so much. I'm not sure if EOS can hold it's gains, but IOTA certainly can if the new wallet allows more people to get involved.

Although I'm still not convinced by Stratis, I totally agree that Ark and Neo are very undervalued right now. I think the BTC comparative price is giving the perception that they aren't at the top of their game.

Interesting times ahead!

Hah, well, I don't know about that! I'm trying to sell some of my IOTA right now and the ticket has been pending for ages. Ethereum is way faster and more reliable than this!
I think they're mostly pumping because people are hoping that these new platforms are 'the next Ethereum' to blow up big?

As for Stratis, I kind of regret getting it because I lost a lot of BTC value and only recently broke even in dollars. However big things are coming this month and next. And there's something strange going on with the Stratis price. I have seen a lot of manipulation in the market and the reddit is filled with FUDders, I have this huge feeling the price is being played with and that keeps me interested because why? The big thing about Stratis is that if you have a masternode, you basically have your own Bitcoin (as in BTC, not STRAT) Tumblr which is basically a money laundering machine. With the billions earned over these past months, it makes me think that there must be billionaires that do not want to pay taxes and would like a Tumblr of their own (which earns them more BTC while owning it).

Additionally, Stratis is basically NEO for the western world. It has all the same perks and advantages as NEO, plus the privacy features which NEO will not have. Stratis is going to be regulation compliant, etc. I think big consultancy firms in the USA and Europe will not be running on NEO because it is Chinese, and they will not be using Ethereum because it is too 'wild' and in flux. But they may be using Stratis, because Stratis is a company that promises reliability, trust and is a party with which they can enter into legal contracts and get tech support from.
I've decided I will hold Stratis for about another month or so. Not interested in the long term since as a small holder I can't earn dividends.

In hindsight I wish I had gotten Ark! Maybe I should switch... I dunno. Ark I see having a bigger hurdle in adoption.

Yeah, everyone wants to be aboard the next Etheretrain eh! :)

Ark is great and tracking really well at the moment. The adoption isn't as wide, but it has the chance to beat all others to the market with many innovative features. The team has been so quite regarding plastering hype across the airwaves that I think they are actually making a good play there.

There's a lot more to it when you start understanding a lot of the work going on throughout the community and by the project team. A.C.E.S. and ARKVM are going to be game changes when they are up and running. The Ethereum listeners are already complete and Bitcoin listeners were completed just a few days ago. The guy who has setup the listeners is going to create a demo service app so anyone can create their own ETH or BTC to ARK exchange. That's going to be huge when it lands. Users will still need to wait out the ETH or BTC blocktime, but Ark has 8 second blocks, so you'll be able to store your value in Ark and quickly get into both. SmartBridges are expected next year also (shortly after the VM). Once bridging is in place, it'll mean you can hold Ark centrally and just send commands to the other blockchains to use their features. For example, you might want to transact privately, so send Ark to burn up some new Zcoin and make your transaction using that.

I think Neo and Stratis are quite different, but mainly for the reasons you've stated. I think you have a solid plan there though and I think if you've come this far, you may as well see if it can get back up to prominence.

As I said the last time, I'm not sure if the tumbler is the right direction for Stratis. They are stating that they are trying to build enterprise solutions primarily and garner adoption by developers who can easily write apps on the Stratis blockchain, but seems now they are going to get involved in and focusing on privacy instead(perhaps it's been the mission all along!). It's no longer clear to me if they are aiming for enterprise solutions or privacy coin. Perhaps privacy will suit the product better. It is a well secured chain and with POS and the ability to run a node, it could seriously make a play for the same market as Dash or Zcash. I might actually get back in with a small holding to see what happens as I'm quite excited about the idea of them changing direction. It might be what was needed for a while!

Yes the smartbridge technology is what interests me in Ark too. Being able to handle other coins from a platform is great! But on the flipside, a lot of projects have devised ways of handling other cryptocurrencies through wrapping them in tokens. I'm not sure what Ark does differently, except market it better? (which is important of course)

Stratis' focus on privacy is actually because of businesses. Businesses like blockchain but they don't want all of their private information open and public to everybody (like the competition). I think this is actually why Ethereum wants to implement privacy features too. As for NEO, they have a similar but different approach. NEO itself won't have privacy features, but the parent company OnChain will create private blockchains for enterprise, which are then able to interact with the public and open NEO blockchain. So privacy does play a role for all of them, in fact, except NEO seperates the two into two kinds of blockchain and the other two try to create a hybrid formula.

The fact that the Tumblr can mix bitcoin is more of a side benefit to the focus on privacy, I believe. The fact that Bitcoin whales may want a Tumblr is more of an added attraction to speculating on STRAT.

But like I said before, I could do without STRAT. Looking for an exit but I'm not sure where. I bought my STRAT when they were 170-230K satoshis. Now it's all the way down to 63K satoshis and it has been a lot lower. In dollars I'm 'okay' but just calculate how much I lost in BTC and it's enough to make one cry!

I feel your pain on STRAT, but like you said, may as well hang in there till the new year. My friend bought a load at the top of the market also. He was going to offload them today, but told him the same. Sure if you're down already, may as well see if it sneaks back up.

I think Smartbridges are slightly different than wrapping tokens and atomic swaps as you'll access the other chains from Ark itself. That gives you a better "get-out" if one of the chains starts becoming unsecured or you need to use multiple chain features at the same time. Only time will tell, but having read up on it and earning my PHD in understanding mental crypto developer talk, I'm well up for it.

Great point you make on Stratis needing privacy for business! Can't believe I missed the whole memo there.... Didn't even think about the impact of public eyes watching the money in or out of the business or worse, execution of contracts! Guess I've been looking with innocent eyes till now thinking about pure Dapp development and wondering why no one has built a kittens game on the......ahhhhh yeahh, that's not worked out well for the chain eh lol!

I only heard about Cryptokittens the other night. Still trying to take it all in. They're like stickers of cats eh! Gotta catch em all! (does that work in this context?)

Well the thing that keeps nagging me about Stratis is how the chart looks like it's widening (when you zoom out completely). Holding is kind of a gamble for me.. it's either going to flop and stay this point or it may blow up big like the first time it blew up big.

I'm confident in my other holdings to make up for any losses STRAT brings.

Rejoicing with IOTA right now.. bought in at $0.28...! Too bad it was one of my smaller holdings, although it is bigger now :)

Very good post,
I'm personally programming on Ethereum, but might be I should check other technologies as well.

Which of them have already working tools to deploy contracts?

Do You know of any good capabilities comparition?

I would recommend you check out NEO, as they have a vibrant developer community and there is a big developer fund available to sponsor projects that help the NEO ecosystem. Look into City of Zion, which is the official NEO community group that builds stuff for NEO. They're pretty cool people

Great observation, conspiracy theorists might think it is all a bit coincidental and therefore must me coordinated by a few whales or something :-P

When are we going to discuss these things in real life? We should have a Steemit meetup in Amsterdam soon!

Well, I don't blame them for thinking it! I think 'something fishy' may be going on, and it may indeed be a kind of group effort. Perhaps not intentional, but more in the ways of mass hysteria... which mainly seems to come from South Korea. They seem to pick 1 coin after another to pump, every once in a while. It could be people chasing highs, but it could also be institutional investors buying in?

Steemit Meetup Amsterdam? Nah, not for me! I like my privacy more and more as my investments in crypto grow :)

I’ve been keeping an eye on KMD

I had some, but sold it a while before it dipped again. It seems like an interesting pic, with the dICO's concept and privacy features and all that!

This post received a 20% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @pandorasbox! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .

This post has received a 2.41 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @pandorasbox.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45