Vertcoin, VTC, one of the Segwitteers.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Still undervalued a lot.

It gained almost 15K percent in value over a year.

Dubbing about it.

Now every time Bitcoin took severe a hit, I HODLed. Even when last time it went below then lowest point I had set for myself. Not trading on centralized exchanges. When I convert some, I use services like shapeshift, changelly and blocktrades. Disliking how exchanges can hold ones funds from withdrawel, I prefer other means.

Made some manual conversions I think now were a bit less smart. Got rid of Zcash and Dash a while ago. For a part because I am without a click with those ones. My long-term portfolio had too much different Cryptos in it. Some needed to go, for others to gain. Vertcoin, VTC, was one I got more of, just like Litecoin, LTC.

While I mainly use Dogecoin for day to day stuff, I actually made some short time profit on it. Such fun to have many of DOGE in ones wallet. Much cheap, such fast, wow value, it is the only real BCH competitor, I think. But where Litecoin, one of the SegWit Cryptos out there, made an atomic swap with Bitcoin, and goes towards the 100$ ceiling, Vertcoin seems to struggle. .

If only Stealth.

Vertcoin is a SegWit Crypto, just like Bitcoin, Litecoin and a few others. It can do atomic swaps too, meaning decentralized exchanges between those Cryptos who support it. This will open new ways for payments too. If a merchant wants BTC, then an atomic swap could be used for the client to pay in VTC, LTC, Mona or DGB.

Vertcoin had Stealth transactions build in before SegWit, but for some reason ripped it out. Before VTC wend SegWit I did test this Stealth part in a forking concept. The project never made it out off my private network but I liked the Stealth part as developed by the Vertcoin team. And if it got back in that would really change things for VTC.

HODL some more.

Good things take time, I do know that. And there are some recent examples in the Cryptos realm that prove this. So I guess I HODL my VTC for a while longer, as I think it has long term potential. Still not mined half, unique Lyra2REv2 algo, keeping ASICs out. No premine and a team that seems to know what they are doing.

Time will tell, but remember, only invest in cryptos what you are willing and able to lose. And your speculation may be as bad or as good as mine.

May the Cryptos be with us.


Vertcoin, the undervalued SegWitteer.
image
Image by @oaldamster, screenshots from Vertcoin dot org

Sort:  

I wish I had held on to my dash from last year!

So sad you sold them all!

Dash was my first crypto buy ever! I thought of buying some in the beginning of this year, I was just lazy at first, but then it poped to 20 usd. I was waiting for a pullback (which never came) so I bought a little at 50 and at 100 usd. I missed a lot of profit, but i'm still happy I bought some!

Hehe, I still made a whack. I bought them for about 20 as well, then when it made that first big leap I sold em all. You can just never know

Was just remembering I had the Bitcoin wallet installed somewhere in 2010. It was still a WXwidgets build interface.

Stared at an empty thing, 0 BTC? Mining, how would that go then?

Ah, such rubbish, uninstall that weird empty thing. Yes, those were them days one still could mine BTC with the kind of PC I had back then... Wonder how many blocks my computer could have found back then, at 50 BTC a pop.

Hahaha, I learned a lot since then. So when Steem came along I jumped the bandwagon right away!

Ah, them glory days... ;-)

I contemplated the mining back then too. I thought that the potential return versus the effort was not worth it lol!!!

My thought on steem exactly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49