You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Civic: Blockchain-Based Identity Theft Protection Platform | CVC Token Surges 176% In 1 Week

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Pfft! I would never use it like this.

It stores your personal information securely and encrypted with the help of blockchain technology, and uses fingerprint identification to verify that you are the owner of that data.

So I switch your phone, or get your fingerprints in a different way, let's say from a glas you drank in a bar. Bam! I have your identity.

Oh your personal info is encrypted but wide open on the blockchain, this just calls for a brute force attack!

+

most of us don't even know that our identity is a straw man! I would much rather see a fake ID service where I can safely send my drugs to and have plausible deniability. I wouldn't have earned $45 on my post if I didn't know what I was talking about ;) That said it doesn't apply to CVS but maybe some food for thought.

Sort:  

Do you have a solution for it? Do you know the algo/process they are using to encrypt data on the chain?

Also, how do you brute force a chain database?

Why is that your opinion "feels like", Civic is all bad things? And if I am not understanding it wrong, why you think that?

Identity is a very serious thing to me too, and I really enjoy learning the ways of it over technology.

You don't need to break no chain but if you'd brute force crack somebody's ID you could get a loan or mortage on his name and get away with the funds.

Yeah strawman, read about how it works: yourstrawman.com

So basically, you need his phone right? This is somehow the same way you steal someones wallet file and then brute force it. Like here on Steem too...

Am I understanding what you mean correctly?

Either way, I agree that if having an ID like that allows you to just execute those kind of actions, then it can be too much of a risk. Maybe multi-sig is somehow part of a better solution to Civic. Also, having 2-factor authentication (finger and eye) could help on encryption.

PS: Your strawman conversation, is for me subject for another post =)

So basically, you need his phone right? This is somehow the same way you steal someones wallet file and then brute force it. Like here on Steem too...
Am I understanding what you mean correctly?

Yes I think so. Multisig sounds good.

PS: Your strawman conversation, is for me subject for another post =)

Glad to hear that! When I first read it I was like

Whaaaaat?

Hmm yes I understand your concerns, of course I don't know every detail of their encryption process but I do think they will have the most advanced tech on their side.
Nonetheless, your concerns are definitely understandable and we'll see how civic will cope with these problems in the future!

Thanks for the kind reply!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43