You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Civic: Blockchain-Based Identity Theft Protection Platform | CVC Token Surges 176% In 1 Week

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Do you have a solution for it? Do you know the algo/process they are using to encrypt data on the chain?

Also, how do you brute force a chain database?

Why is that your opinion "feels like", Civic is all bad things? And if I am not understanding it wrong, why you think that?

Identity is a very serious thing to me too, and I really enjoy learning the ways of it over technology.

Sort:  

You don't need to break no chain but if you'd brute force crack somebody's ID you could get a loan or mortage on his name and get away with the funds.

Yeah strawman, read about how it works: yourstrawman.com

So basically, you need his phone right? This is somehow the same way you steal someones wallet file and then brute force it. Like here on Steem too...

Am I understanding what you mean correctly?

Either way, I agree that if having an ID like that allows you to just execute those kind of actions, then it can be too much of a risk. Maybe multi-sig is somehow part of a better solution to Civic. Also, having 2-factor authentication (finger and eye) could help on encryption.

PS: Your strawman conversation, is for me subject for another post =)

So basically, you need his phone right? This is somehow the same way you steal someones wallet file and then brute force it. Like here on Steem too...
Am I understanding what you mean correctly?

Yes I think so. Multisig sounds good.

PS: Your strawman conversation, is for me subject for another post =)

Glad to hear that! When I first read it I was like

Whaaaaat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44