It's okay not to fit in a box: Plant based, burlesque dancing, crypto fan

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

I think this is a really important message and something that it's really taken me a long time to get over.

Why? In my role as a communications consultant, it's all about branding. You constantly hear how important having a 'clear brand', whether for a business or as a person. Especially when you're doing things online. The buzzword in branding is CONSISTENCY.

Well, are people consistent? Are your interests and areas of expertise consistent with each other? Mine aren't.

I work in cryptocurrency. This is always a conversation starter at parties. "What, like Bitcoin?!" is the standard reaction. Well, yes, like Bitcoin and Ethereum and Monero and Zcash and so on and on... I spend half my time around new people explaining what cryptocurrency is! Anyone else?! Before this, I normally have to briefly cover Blockchain. After this, people ask why we need it and what's going to happen with it in the future.

That's before I even get into what I do which is mining. I normally go with "We build and sell machines (computers) that power the cryptocurrency network. In return for providing this power, you get paid in crypto. So yes, they are essentially money making machines." Then the questions really start.

However, 2 minutes after running through the groundbreaking technology that is expected to change our world more than the internet, I'll be talking about my plant based cookery or nipple tassels (I'm learning burlesque). This is not what people expect. If you're into crypto, it's expected that you'll most likely be male (sad but true), you'll be into gaming (I played COD once in about 2010) or you'll be a multimillionaire investor (sadly not true).

I think realising that it's okay to be interested in things that are considered to be from entirely different worlds is huge. What I guess I'm saying is you do you. Here are 3 reasons why:

1. You have more friends.

If you have one interest, you might have a group of people you hang out with who also like knitting or marathon running (nutters). If you have lots of different interests, you'll find your own communities from different worlds.

2. Your interests change.

Insta is a great example of this. People develop their own brand and stick to it so that people know exactly what to expect with these people. That's great but it doesn't always leave room for growth. When a band changes their sound, there can be a huge backlash but you can't not put that out if that's what you're feeling now. You'll be living your most authentic life if you accept that it's okay to be whatever you want.

3. You will likely inspire others.

If you're not the stereotypical person in your space, you can become a role model for other people from different backgrounds. That's what I'm trying to do with crypto. More ladies please!

You can't help what you love but you can change how you feel about what you love. Embrace it. Do whatever you enjoy. It's cliché but live your best life. If that involves crypto mining, cooking, dancing or anything you think I might be interested in, hit me up!

Sort:  

Hi, thank you for contributing to Steemit!

I upvoted and followed you; follow back and we can help each other succeed :)

P.S.: My Recent Post

Congratulations @misshall! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @misshall! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61