MINING ON YOUR PHONE WITH A WEB BROWSER

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Mining in a web browser is becoming more widespread and can be used to mine a number of different cryptocurrencies, for example Electroneum, Monero and JSEcoin. To put it simply: they are mined with a JavaScript for as long as the web browser is open. Is it possible to mine on a smartphone? Yes – but you will need a few additional apps.

(Graphics source: Pixabay.com, [1], [2])

During night-time I am mining with a web browser on my home computer and get a few dozens cents per night. I turn off the screen to save electricity. As long as the computer itself is on, it keeps on mining.

But it’s not as simply on a smartphone


Mining is happening in the same way: one navigates to the page with the JavaScript and the mining goes on for as long as that page stays open and the browser is running. But smartphone functions differently from a computer. For example, smartphones automatically turn off their screen after a few minutes of inactivity. It means that the mining can go on for 10 minutes until the screen turns off and the mining stops. Of course, it’s possible to extend the period until the screen turns off, but I was only able to get 30 minutes on those phones that I tested.

In order to maximise web-mining on the smartphone, I had to download the app Stay Alive. I can choose different settings regarding when the phone screen should turn off. I can also choose for the screen to never go to sleep automatically. With this app I can navigate to the correct website and then let the mining go on until I need to use my phone for something else.

Is it profitable?


It depends on how much you pay for electricity required to charge your phone and how the always-on mode affects the phone’s battery. I had to test and find a technical solution that makes this type of mining possible. How much do I earn? It depends on what service I use and which coin I mine. So far my test shows that I get the same profit for the same period of time by mining on a modern smartphone as by mining on a computer’s web browser.

(I’m only mining in this way while I’m awake. I guess one shouldn’t do it while away from the smartphone because of the risk of overheating)


Graphics source: Pixabay.com

@minimining

Sort:  

Well done @minimining! You successfully guessed the match result.

Group Phase - Portugal vs Morocco
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Do you like the SteemitBoard Corld Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

You didn't really mention what coins are worth mining through the phones and with what application though.

I tried jsecoin. But you can also go for monero and electroneum. I get 0.0175 usd per hour
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@minimining/jsecoin-platform-mining-daily-earnings
But I also tried with a old phone, S cover, and the result was only 1/5 of mining with samsung a4.
Thanks for the comment. I will write more details next time.
I will make a test with monero next week.

I have a small collection of old cell phones. I have a Samsung S4 doing nothing, for example. I also have a Samsung S10 Tablet that could do some mini mining too along with an iPad Air 2. I would like to try to put some of these old devices to use to generate some minor coinage where it makes sense. It seems like that boat has sailed over a year ago, but I gotta believe there's something out there that still works good enough.

Absolutely . First start with electroneum at all androids . If you are 4 in yoour family you can have 4 accounts . I register with differeent mail and different phonenumber.
If one android is to old use dual space.
I get 2.5 dollar per unit per mounth.
See my blogtext about electroneum.
Then start mannaaccount to every familymember. See my manna text.
Then is the question....
What to mine in browser....
I have choosen jsecoin ( start with ico in july)
Because it is only 2500 miners so I get pretty much. 0.1 - 0.2 Usd each day annd unit.
Then I have some cryptowallets so I can get some airdrops.
Dont you have a computer too? Use it too.
And dont even think about minergate - gives almost nothing but a heat phone. Good Luck
I will do more tests in this summer and hope I can find more ways

Ok, I will look into starting up some of these old dust collectors again. I have at least 2 PC laptops I can dedicate to browser mining, maybe a 3rd. I already run a reasonably equipped mining rig on Ubuntu for GPU mining. It'd be nice to have a few other coins mining on some of my old junk that is sitting around. I will look at your blogs. Thanks.

Thanks ! I read a lot of your blogtext too. The article about #what to do with 5k# was really good.

But - keep in mind that only one miner per IP at jsecoin.

Honestly, it's just more effective to buy a R1-LTC from Bitmain as it has a 5v use and does better than mining apps I've tried on my cell phone. Oh and its way cheaper than a X.

That's said, I would be interested in browser minings worth something on a phone browser.

I agree. I do not think you should by I phone only for mining. But If you have phones - you can use them. I am trying most for fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83