You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @mindhunter discusses: Which cryptocurrency do you believe is likely to explode next (in terms of price)?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

I've not read that particular book, but I've read his other one 'The End of the Road'.

Such a theory, if true would seem to strike at the very heart of Western philosophy and ethics; small wonder that Mr. Allegro's book aroused passionate feelings, much as Immanuel Velikovsky's Worlds of Collision did nearly twenty-five years ago(1945). The validity of the Bible, the status of the Church, the moral foundations of our thought and institutions for the past 2000 years -- all are called into question if Mr. Allegro's argument is to be accepted.

In The End of a Road Mr. Allegro assumes the correctness of his theory and proceeds to build upon the destruction it must inevitably occasion. The result is a frest concept of humanism strong enough to compensate for the lost faith and capable, through reason and technology, of leading mankind down a broader and better road to a more satisfying future. Reeducation, self-disipline, courage and honesty will be required. This companion volume to a startling, disturbing book is reassuring affirmation of a man's ability to transcend his fears and fashion his own destiny :)

Sort:  

very detailed answer there Shane! He was allowed to view and study the dead sea scrolls as wel

Another thing that bothers me about Allegro's "fogeyish" mentality is his dated diatribe about hallucinogens. He called early Christians and Judaic mystics druggies, and he bandied the phrases "pot head" and "drug addict" or "druggie" with some beligerance. He tried too hard to dissociate himself from the counter culture of the 60's, but in so doing gave the appearance of being a propaganda machine, wearing his politics on his sleeve. Such blind prejudice is annoying and cuts into his objectiveness, further jeopardizing his credibility. Did Mr. Allegro have some unresolved issues with drugs? I wonder, but his generalizations throughout the End of a Road were broad-brushed, stereotypical and unoriginal. He should not have strayed from a lucrative and respectible position on the DSS translation team into social scientist or armchair historian, roles at which he was not especially proficient.

OK, hunter out .... :)

Of course he did drugs he was a wacko him and Yuri Gellar would go into the woods with a recorder and claim to have alien voices on the tape, but when asked to present them they were blank. Yuri Gellar is another phony who ppl eat up in the late 70s and 80s because of peoples naivety back then, some are more awake now. as for allegro he was big into lsd and dmt.

I can't imagine a walk in the woods with you would ever being boring Sheryl :)

HAHA I would be going looking for aliens though hahhaha, I would dust you in a hiking trail hahaha ;)

Are you sure about that? 10 SBD says you can't make it to the top of the first Munro - Hee hee! :)
https://www.visitscotland.com/see-do/active/walking/munro-bagging/

yeah you might win on that one haha

Many American tourists are taken to hospital with heart attacks every year here trying to attempt these Munroe monsters! They are not particularly high like the Alps, but are v.steep. They'll shred your heart in seconds! I'll post one of them later for you - a beautiful one covered in snow :)

another words he was a good bullshit artist haha

He'd do very well on the Steemit I'm sure ;)

For sure he was a bullshitoligst. I don't like his face either lol, you know how some peoples face just bothers you hahaaa

Thankfully you don't give me that face problem thing :)

Correct, he was allowed to see the scrolls. For me Allegro boldly promotes an atheistic humanism, and I can appreciate boldness, and I don't begrudge him atheism. However, what he doesn't tell you is that the fantastic evolutionary leaps in science, of all things, were made largely by men and women who were seeking God or divine manifestation, not fact. You want names? How about Pythagoras, or Galileo, or Isaac Newton, or Albert Einstein?

It's not impossible to imagine that a scholar who spent a lifetime translating Hebrew and Aramaic intertestimental religious texts would become disenchanted and burned out. After all, the Essenes wrote war scrolls, temple scrolls, and Messianic prophecies, but in 70 AD they were wiped out by the Romans. A lot of good all of that prayer and planning for an overthrow of the "Kittim" and "Sons of Belial" did them! I often reflect on that irony, myself.

The reality is, humans have a need, and are perhaps hard-wired to seek God consciousness. In our search for God, we may not come face to face with Him, but we certainly uncover marvelous and enduring treasures as a byproduct of our God-quest. This is the conundrum of science, that it profits best when we seek the mystical. Humans without God dry up eventually. I'm not even especially religious, yet I recognize that much :) <3

Yes, Pythagoreans and other great Greek philosophers had some great views, I believe in a Creator, you can call him God, or the Designer, or whatever. I don't believe all this happened by chance, I believe we are all under this supreme beings consciousness. Death is a part of life so I am not afraid of it either. Most are so scared to die!

The day my mother died I wrote in my journal, "A serious misfortune of my life has arrived." I suffered for more than one year after the passing away of my mother. But one night, in the highlands of Vietnam, I was sleeping in the hut in my hermitage. I dreamed of my mother. I saw myself sitting with her, and we were having a wonderful talk. She looked young and beautiful, her hair flowing down. It was so pleasant to sit there and talk to her as if she had never died. When I woke up it was about two in the morning, and I felt very strongly that I had never lost my mother. The impression that my mother was still with me was very clear. I understood then that the idea of having lost my mother was just an idea. It was obvious in that moment that my mother is always alive in me.

I opened the door and went outside. The entire hillside was bathed in moonlight. It was a hill covered with tea plants, and my hut was set behind the temple halfway up. Walking slowly in the moonlight through the rows of tea plants, I noticed my mother was still with me. She was the moonlight caressing me as she had done so often, very tender, very sweet... wonderful! Each time my feet touched the earth I knew my mother was there with me. I knew this body was not mine but a living continuation of my mother and my father and my grandparents and great-grandparents. Of all my ancestors. Those feet that I saw as "my" feet were actually "our" feet. Together my mother and I were leaving footprints in the damp soil.

From that moment on, the idea that I had lost my mother no longer existed. All I had to do was look at the palm of my hand, feel the breeze on my face or the earth under my feet to remember that my mother is always with me, available at any time.

― Thich Nhat Hanh, No Death, No Fear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74