My So-Crypto'd Life

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

I am so, so, so not hip to the cryptocurrency thing, people. By that I mean that I do not fully understand how they work, and you almost certainly know more about the blockchain than I do. But I do know how to click a few buttons and enjoy websites and apps that use it!

I’m not just talking about Steemit. I’ve also signed up for Sweatcoin and Readercoin (yes, those are my sign-up-through-me links, thank you very much).

Sweatcoin was the first dipping of my toes into Lake Cryptocrazy. For those who don’t know, it’s an app that rewards you for walking outside with Sweatcoins, which you can trade for small rewards like free trials or discounts at select online, or save up for more valuable gift cards. This was a fine app to have running in the background, and every once in a blue moon there’s a small reward I’m curious enough to splurge on. I haven’t, however, earned anything big yet, and I don’t plan to for possibly up to a few years. 

Readercoin, though, that seemed much more promising. I love to listen to audiobooks on my way to and from work, and I chastise myself frequently for not having read more classic literature. Perfect solution. The rewards are also much easier to achieve, and I’m well on my way to a smaller Amazon or PayPal gift card after just a couple weeks of admittedly-irregular use. 

Now enter Steemit. More cryptocurrencies. I’m new, but I’ve read the comments of some more cynical users who believe this platform is already going downhill. 

But, as I always like to say, just think about me for a second! I’ve already admitted to you that I’m a crypto-dummy, and I have three accounts with three different cryptocurrency-generating parties! And I will undoubtedly have to go through Bitcoin or something else at some point if I ever get enough Steem or Steem Power or Steem Dollars or whatever to convert to a decent amount of money!

All I’m saying is, I think we’re actually looking at the future here, guys. Maybe not this particular platform, and maybe not those particular apps, but there’s something to all this stuff. Even a newbie like me can tell. I can totally see a future where the majority of online platforms have some kind of cryptocurrency market. 

“Shouldn’t Bitcoin’s popularity have clued you in?” Yeah, yeah, shut up. 

Included the picture because we watched Back to the Future III last night, and also because it’s a damn good movie. Go watch the entire trilogy right now. That’s the call to action I choose for this blog post. 

Sort:  

To help you understand the point of crypto currencies better you need to know why the need for them in the first place.
Back in 2008 the economy sank bad and it was due to the foolishness of the banks. The banks have too much control of the economy. Satoahi made the bitcoin to decentralize the currency system. The banks keep printing and printing money putting us in debt more and more. Crypto currencies was meant to put the economic power in the hands of the people without a central authority to tell us what to do with our money.
Start with the history of the need for crypto up till how it evolved to today. If I explained everything it would take pages and pages to type it all.

Congratulations @megfuentes! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @megfuentes! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @megfuentes! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61111.24
ETH 2687.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61