Kontiki - My Cardano Stake Pool

in #cryptocurrency4 years ago (edited)

6gm0yg.jpg

Hello Everybody,

The last two weeks I have been working intensively on setting up a Cardano stake pool. Translated to Steem parlance a stake pool is a witness. Since Cardano is POS rather than DPOS there are no votes and the majority of the rewards are paid to the ADA holders rather than to the pool operators. The latter can configure their pools to take a fee which is publicly visible to holders when they chose a pool to stake with.

At this time staking still runs on a test net but the rewards will be converted to real ADA at the end of the test period. This provides the Cardano team with an opportunity to watch how the incentives play out.

Everybody who held ADA in a Daedalus or a Yoroi wallet on November 29th can begin to earn ADA rewards by staking.

I have chosen to setup my own pool to make the network a tiny bit more decentralized but I could just as well have chosen one of the fellow pools to stake my ADA.

My pool is called "Kontiki" (KNTI), and you are welcome to use it for your staking, too. You can see all pools on adapools.org and you will be able to select one directly from the Daedalus or Yoroi test net wallet, once they are released (in a few days).

If the above sounds too cryptic for you, then don't worry and check back with Cardano in three to six months to see if staking started on the mainnet.

What fascinates me about Cardano is their scientific approach to crypto and their rigorous thinking. Typically in software, people have learned to shoot for an MVP, storm to market, and fix the issues later. Such an approach, however, does not work for software that steers SPACEX's falcon 9, nor it does not work for crypto networks. Cardano has realized this right from the start and tailored their design and development principles accordingly.

Onward and Upward!

Sort:  

Yes everyone says so about their scientific approach, what fascinates me more is their legal approach. It will be nice to see what Cardano brings to DeFi, upward and onward it is.

Cool, I will join you there when staking delegation is enabled!

Cardano is considered as the third generation Blockchain.
Its scientific approach and peer-reviewed academic research guarantee a unique development model in the crypto ecosystem.

It is also developed based on a scientific philosophy, and has a team of qualified academic experts and engineers.

Good choice you have made: work with Cardano.
I predict many successes.

Most welcome my dear friend
I'm like @josediccus, one of the posts seems to be a bit mysterious,

BEST OF LUCK,

Hello @mariusfebruary had time that I didn't see, a few days ago I commented with another user. and Every day I visited his blog.

It's good that I'm back and with good news that in the future we'll all benefit.

Smart contracts are a field of software engineering where there is little tolerance for failure. There is a great need for rigorous testing and even formal verification. That is one limiting factor to the mainstreaming of smart contracts. The more complex they are the more chance of error there is.

Very high-quality standard libraries are a minimum requirement.

Yes, absolutely.

Thanks @mariusfebruary for your very interesting post.
You are right, it sounds very criptic for me, but I'll do my best to understand.
Thanks a lot.

Exactly I was going to say your post sounds or seems very cryptic but like you also confirm at the end, it sounds interesting Howbeit and I hope vto check back in months time

@tipu curate

Excelent notice, congrats for your pool. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16