10 Questions: Louis Thomas x TheCryptoCactus

10 questions THUMBNAIL.jpg

TheCryptoCactus recently invited me to take part in his "10 Questions" series where he asks various people in the crypto space a series of questions.

I thought I'd create a Steemit post sharing the outcome of this collaboration. Enjoy!


10 Questions : Louis Thomas

1.) Starting off at the beginning of your journey into cryptocurrency, when and why did you start investing in crypto?

I dumped all of my savings into crypto within about 2 months of learning about it via Andreas Antonopoulo’s appearance on the Joe Rogan Experience podcast. I’d spent a lot of time listening to Gary Vaynerchuk over the years talking about how the internet was in the process of disrupting every single industry out there, so I understood precisely where Andreas was coming from when he talked about how Bitcoin was going to disrupt the world of finance. It seemed like a no-brainer to me and still does, so I was happy to put everything into it.

  1. How do you feel the crypto space has changed since your first initial investment?

So. Many. Scams! Of course they’ve always been around, but since about mid-2017 it seems like the number of scams has increased dramatically.

  1. In your personal opinion do you feel new people coming into the space should feel as if they have missed out by not getting in earlier.

It’s natural. I’m sure most people have felt this way. There’s always gonna be someone who got in before you, but there’s no point dwelling on that. Everyone in crypto right now is still incredibly early in the grand scheme of things, we’re still very much in the single digits when it comes to global adoption. We still have the remaining 90+% to go.

  1. What style of trading to you personally use the most, HODL, Swing Trading, Day Trading?

HODL! Unless you’re a GOOD trader, I would always recommend that people stay away from the trading as much as possible. There’s plenty of low-risk money to be made by simply HODLing.

  1. Why did you start a youtube channel? Did you ever think it would be such a success?

I’ve always loved YouTube. I made videos before crypto but they never really took off. I made a video talking about the fact I’d invested my life savings in crypto, and that did really well. So I just naturally transitioned into more crypto content. The goal was always to be successful, but to actually achieve that was a pleasant surprise. It hasn’t been easy though, it’s taken a heck of a lot of work. Still worth it though.

  1. A lot of us know your very bullish on IOTA, whats another project that you think will do well within the next few years?

I’m a simple man. Other than IOTA, I have the vast majority of my money invested in ETH and BTC. That being said, I’m very interested to see what comes of the Smart Media Tokens on the Steem blockchain, and what possible effect that might have on the price of Steem.

  1. Lets skip forward 5 years, where do you see yourself and what work do you think you will be doing in the space?

My hope is that within 5 years we will have achieved some degree of “mainstream adoption” and if that’s the case, there might not be much need for crypto-related channels by that time. I’ll keep making video content around investing, technology, society and futurism though. These are the things that interest me. I want to document my journey with property investing too.

  1. Apart from cryptocurrency’s what other investments are you interested in exploring?

Property for sure. I’m British, and we’re obsessed with property over here. I love the fact that it’s a relatively safe investment, and you get rental income along with the capital appreciation. I’d imagine that property investing is a little less stressful than investing in cryptocurrencies. Which is quite appealing!

  1. When looking at a potential investment do you prefer to look at the TA or fundamentals before making your decision, also whats your thoughts on TA?

The rule that I live by, is that fundamentals are for deciding which projects to invest in, and TA is for deciding WHEN to invest. I try not to invest in projects that I believe have poor fundamentals. It’s too stressful.

  1. Could you tell us one thing about you that not many people know?

I’m taller than a lot of people think. People always assume that I’m short, even though I’m 6'4

If you enjoyed this post, then be sure to follow @TheCryptoCactus on Twitter. I'll try to convince him to get on Steemit too!

Sort:  

I bet, when it comes to Q #1, the only regret you have is that you didn’t get to know Andreas Antonopoulos much earlier. But at the end you are right, we should still feel lucky to be part of it this time and not when bitcoin gets to 100k.
I’m with you, definitely HOLD!
With my investment I’m looking at least 5 years ahead and property is a must. As long as you have access to capital to afford property and unless there is a bubble, go ahead, don’t hesitate.
I’m really surprised you are 6’4” tall. I’m 6’1”.

A rare Steemit post instead of Video!!! Cool :-)

Man, its really nice to know about your IOTA investment. Either I missed it or I forgot because I thought that you put your money in just Bitcoin and Ethereum.

I think that five years might give us a pretty good idea of what mass adoption and mainstream adoption would look like. But I do think that the process might take decades to complete. Then again, for early adopters that probably won't matter because if we even go to 1 percent completion, we are talking trillions

Apart from all this, all my savings went in about three months. I was all in before 90 days were up :-)

Great questions and even better answers! Love the way your answered about TA vs Fundamentals analysis as many in the cryptocurrency space focus on TA particularly on Steemit. I think that fundamentals will lead to the bottom of this bear market as TAs are overwhelming buyers here and leading to hesitant investors as the downtrend continues.

Really wonderful questions are very useful to the world of encryption
You are a wonderful and successful investor
I always take your advice
Thank you my dear

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82