You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Brad Garlinghouse Ripple CEO, answers Why should I invest in Ripple? - Ripple is NOT for YOU.

Hello you make good points; but I suggest that we continue the debate. Take Ethereum. Does the Ethereum Foundation care whether we buy Ether? It has already established and need for Ether on the part of those who are running software on their block chain.

I would not expect either Ripple or their banker backers to have any interest in whether we buy XRP; because they do not need us. However, as an investor who wants to diversify across the landscape, I think of holding some XRP in a manner that is similar to the way I think about holding Pepsi-Cola stock. Do I have this all wrong?

Here is something that I think investors should think about with regard to XRP, although I offer this is pure speculation. Once The King has come to the conclusion that certain cryptocurrencies are taking an undue bite out of His Tax Revenues, he’s going to move to choke off the flow of traffic between certain cryptocurrencies and His Fiat Money. I am betting that XRP is not going to be targeted, and moreover it may well become the basis for the widely expected Fedcoin. As I said, that’s pure speculation; but the bottom line is that if you want diversification it might be worthwhile to give XRP a thought!

Sort:  

Comment on your first para: Ether does care. Because Ether is meant for you and not a niche market. Ether platform is for you and me. While Ripple isn't.

Comment on your second para: Agreed. I have written about the investment part in one of my previous articles over a week or two ago. The links are provided in the end of the post. But things have changed and I will explain it in the third para.

Comment on your third para: Absolutely a No for me. Many of the countries are on their toes. They will have to eventually recognize Blockchain tech. Their Banks will/must adopt Blockchain or will either go obsolete or suffer huge losses. In such a scenario, the governments will issue their own currencies. State Banks will adopt those, hence the sub-ordinate Banks. India, UAE, Bahrain has already started this process, some of the Russian Banks are also up for it, GP Morgan is developing their own Blockchain and I assume China, Australia, South Korea, Singapore, Bahrain, Indonesia are the next to come up with announcements. Where does Ripple will stand? I don't know.

Even if none of the above comes true, XRP isn't a profitable venture.

Thanks :)

I take all your points! But I need to emphasize that nothing in my remarks implies the proposition that XRP is profitable. In this game, as you know, betting on what's going to make you a profit down the road is just another gambling bet. Some gamblers hedge their positions, so they will take up something "just in case", not because they expect it to be profitable. I am sure you know that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85