You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Am I Such a Fan of DPOS Blockchains Like STEEM and BitShares?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

I have seen the vast majority will go to the less improved older solution that has been around longer in spite of significant improvements.

It is simple Network Effects. Why aren't we all speaking Esperanto? The invented language that is designed and doesn't have the warts present in pretty much every living language today? Why do we use QWERTY when the DVORAK system keeps the most used letters where the fingers rest while typing? Why the hello do people insist on paying me through banks? For those of us who get the crypto-currency advantage, why is Bitcoin even relevant today?

All of these are about network effects. I am not going to try to expend the energy to teach Esperanto to others before having a conversation when we can both speak the same language already. I can take the keys out of the keyboard and rearrange it for DVORAK but I can touch type using QWERTY. People can send me money for a $10 fee in Bitcoin 5 cent fee in Nubits for free in Steem dollars instead of insisting on paying the swift fees, but then they don't know how to first buy the Bitcoin Nubits Steem dollars.

It's going to take time for people to get into bitshares or perhaps it will just never go over a dollar each. Now we have free transactions on Steem. I am waiting for the value of the Steem dollar to go down to a dollar again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82