Getting Started and a Pop Quiz!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

So far we have 7 players signed up!



All are welcome to join in any time during the week, just be sure to submit your picks by Friday at midnight (pst).

Check out the Anouncement Post



So far our players are:
@clove71
@krenter
@soufianechakrouf
@arcrypto
@clairev
@soufiani
@molinach

and my hubby @chackett will probably stop in and try to play, but he obviously won't be eligible to win any prizes. It'll just be so he can learn. :)


Let's get started!



cover.jpg


I am by no means an expert, still just learning, but I've put together a bit of a walkthrough for those that might be super new to all this and could use a tutorial. I hope this helps us all get started making our picks!

First, how do we pick our coins, you might ask. By my count, there are currently 62 different choices to invest in our coins2learn market. That's a lot. Which one is the "right" one? Well, the answer to that is, who knows? It's all just speculation and for fun, but maybe we can learn a bit on the way? I entered all the coins into a random name picker and selected 3 coins to spotlight and hopefully point you in the right direction how to start researching your own coin picks.


Some basic tools to help you get started:
Coinmarketcap.com This website gives you realtime info on prices as well as links to websites about each coin.

btcd.jpg

Here's our first coin, Bitcoin Dark (btcd)
You can see what it was trading at when I took the screenshot as well as the links to websites on the left. This is a great place to start researching a coin.


Ok, so what's important to know about a coin when you're reearching it? Personally, I like to know the following:
What does it do?
What are it's features?
Where is it trading?
Does it have a strong online presence? Facebook, Twitter, Reddit etc... (Is it so new that no one is talking about it yet? Or has the interest died out long ago?)


A couple of other good resources:
coindesk.com
cointelegraph.com


Here are the other 2 coins selected at random for today.
grc.jpg

clams.jpg


Let's do a pop quiz! I'm going to ask one question about each of today's coins and whoever is first to answer all 3 correctly in the comments will get a hefty upvote from me. If you only have 1 or 2 of them right I'll let you know and you can try again. This'll be good practice!


  1. What 2 major exchanges does Bitcoin Dark trade on? (btcd)
  2. What is the purpose of Grid Coin? (grc)
  3. How do you "dig up clams?" (clams)


    Leave your answers in the comments if you care to play the pop quiz! Tomorrow I'll have a tutorial to walk you through how to use the coins2learn interface. Hope you all have a Happy New Year!
    bitmoji898583847.png



    banner.jpg
Sort:  

Bittrex and polo
Something to do with research
Go to their partner site and enter BTC addy

That was fast! You playing in the league @davedickeyyall? 😁

Duh..FCTL lol... smoke another one

Sorry, i just realized I probably should have linked to the announcement. Could have saved you a click. My bad. Lol.

Do you have to play on a laptop? Or will my phone work?

I'm using the Brave browser on my phone and it works fine. Shouldn't need a laptop. 😁

Ok.. I'm using chrome.. but can't figure out how to buy coins

I am one year late for the pop quiz (new year jokes already), started yesterday in coin2learn and i already had dropped +1000 positions in rank, can i restart?

haha! I wouldn't start over, try to make some trades to bring your position up. 😀

Which coins did you pick? Maybe I can help you figure out which ones are doing poorly. I was down a bit for a day and now I'm back up. This is the fun of crypto, you never know what it's gonna do. Remember, it doesn't matter your rank until Saturday morning, so you've got time to play around with it. :)

Hey @khackett, I split the 10k in three equal parts and invest in three coins one is bitcoin, but I don't remember the name of the other two and I am can't check out right now which or how I am doing after a night of sleep

No worries. The market seems to be recovering, I bet you're doing better than you think. 😊

2046 (-67) ok i need more learning xD, i invested in pasc, omni and btc, but i want stick to them for now.

Yes I noticed, I will check my rank when i get back home, thank you for cheering me up @khackett

This is so great! Thank you. My user name on coin2learn is Veronica

upss, like I'm late XD

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by khackett from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57687.08
ETH 2333.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36