Good Karma: Crapcoin of the MonthsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

So every once in a while I go through the Altcoins announcement forum on Bitcointalk just to buy up low market cap tokens with hints of simple, good branding. With that, I recently found Good Karma, an ERC-20 token revolving around rewarding consumers that go for socially and environmentally-conscious goods. Well, I don't think the Ethereum is all that ecogreen at the moment so it's quite ironic, but at least the fledgling token's secured by the active and established network.

When you do something good, it will come back to you. That is Good Karma.​

The market is a lowly-traded crapcoin, so I made it moon 364.79% with only ~$200! That got me about 0.02% of the entire supply. The better price at the moment could've actually been 10x lesser than what I paid for, but I just snagged whatever's on the sell book. Note there isn't any ICOs involved in this, and the token is non-inflationary, capped at 888 million GOODs. All said, I might just be wasting some dough on this, but I must admit that I like the package a little too much. Plus, the seemingly experienced founder (Kosmost) claimed to have been the inventor of the ICOs that we know of today, providing the following responses in his FAQ:-

You didn't invent the ICO. Come on!

Somebody did. And it just so happens it was me. I conceived of it in March 2014 for the old Karmacoin (through a new entity called Karmashares) and we launched on April 18, 2014.

Although MaidSafe and Mastercoin both held 'crowdsales' before then, they were not ICOs. Crowdfunding is merely a method of fundraising, whereas an ICO raises coins for both capital and as a representation of ownership interest in an enterprise, like a digital stock certificate. We referred to the new model as POC (proof-of-coin, to secure the coin's economy) and IPOCOs (Initial Public Offerings for COins, for subsidiaries or derivatives). In fact, we even had digital certificates: https://goo.gl/XJ9yVh to go along with our list of owners http://web.archive.org/web/20140626124054/http://karmashares.com:80/explorer-v01 as well as bonus periods for earlybirds. We also reached out to other coins like ReddCoin and the broader cryptocurrency community to consider the same kind of model.

I have been, however, trying to get people to consider the difference between the two terms: https://www.reddit.com/r/ethtrader/comments/6lbo1v/as_the_guy_who_invented_the_first_true_ico_i

So why isn't this an ICO?

You'll notice that most legitimate ICOs today do not allow anyone that lives or resides in the US to join in the distribution. What's not being considered is that the people running the ICO should not be US residents or citizens, either. It is likely to constitute an “investment contract” by the SEC per the US Securities Act of 1933 as thus fall into the domain of an unregistered security. It is the reason I shut down Karmashares.

Until the SEC changes their guidance on securities and equity derivatives in favor of ICOs, I won't even think about it (and advise others residing in the US or who are US citizens not to, either).

In a way, the concept of the token kind of reminds about my relationship with Steem voting. It might sound very naive, but I like that the token economy is making it easier for goodness to be rewarded. Don't have any idea at all how this project will progress, but I think this seed may have a slim chance of turning into something decent. Or just die and wither, like most startups. Anyway, do your own research! Also please note that this has nothing to do with fellow Steemian @good-karma.

Resources

  1. Bitcointalk announcement: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1969334.0

  2. Available markets: https://coinmarketcap.com/assets/good-karma/#markets

  3. Website: http://goodkarmacoin.com

  4. Explore the contract: https://ethplorer.io/address/0xae616e72d3d89e847f74e8ace41ca68bbf56af79


Not to be taken as financial advice.

Sort:  

For the record, I am not involved 🙂

Great to read, because reading Good karma, I was directly thinking about you :)
My post is maybe unecessary but I wanted to write, though.
Thank you @kevingwong for your interesting post.
Sorry @good-karma if I bothered you.
Bright blessings.

I read the post thinking that!!!! haha

Hahahahaha

When you do something good, it will be come back to you, that is Good Karma, so that, all stemians, let's do something good here and trust that @good-karma is on the way. Thank you @kevinwong for sharing good post as always.

Regard
@rayfa

Good don't always come back though, but blockchain and culture might somehow make it better :) Thanks for dropping by @rayfa

Flagged 1% because it has nothing to do with this post.

Environmentally-conscious token on a POW chain, that is ironic...

Exactly! lol. I wonder when Eth will switch to POS. Seems like a stalling game now.

Thanks, there are a couple of accounts mixing and mashing comments / posts on Steemit..

Yeah... it's a real pain in the ass for Steemit.
I had already notified steemcleaners about this post.

Everybody is trying to get a piece of the action. Sometimes, way too desperate. pray and pay my friend. Spray and pay.

Can't wait for community tokens around here, I'm sure there will be some bright and outright hilarious ideas.. lol

trollcoin

value increases with frustration

Haha, I thought this was the work of Feruz but it seems like @good-karma has made it clear that he is not affiliated with it.

The coin good karma seems like a serious pump and dump coin which you can probably keep making a constant profit out of if you look at the graph. Too bad there isn't much money in Good Karma which I guess would give it its high volatility.

If I was marketing for good karma I would say something along the lines 'buy us now and have good karma, Very Cheap, Very Good' haha
Thanks for this crapcoin of the month @kevinwong :)

"It might sound very naive, but I like that the token economy is making it easier for goodness to be rewarded."

I don't think it is naive. For every one of us who chooses to engage with the global community in a healthy/sustainable way, we move another step closer to that blockchain revolution we're all waiting for.

You'd be surprised that many think its naive :p

Hey, Kevin, this is really a CRAP :) Plus who cares about karma nowadays, especially in crypto...

Be GOOD and earn KARMA, like exchangeable for cash. Pretty good actually lol!

The Monk Billionaire Club!

I really like the name of the coin, and you made my day with this statement:

The market is a lowly-traded crapcoin, so I made it moon 364.79% with only ~$200! That got me about 0.02% of the entire supply.

How cool with such low amount of funds to be able to impact the price so dramatically!

I think you've done a great investment: currently the coin is tipple the value to what you've bought it for $0.002233 (1050.72%).

I'm just going to hodl til it moons like x1000 :D

Maybe you get some Good Karma out of it and this and other crapcoin investments will even moon further, all the way to Mars :)

a year ago invested in several coins but now I am only choosing qualitycoins. However i made some money out of it but now I feel better thinking I made a better and saver investment.

so far my track record for crapcoins is doing better than the other portfolio..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97